Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-13-2008, 08:15 PM
BigMac BigMac is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Dual Boot Mirror Problem?

I just recently purchased a macbook that is partitioned so half of the hard drive is devoted to mac and half is devoted to windows, so that when I boot up, i can hold option and choose which to start from. I believe this is called dual boot? anyway, when I mirrored my hard drive to an external drive, it was successful in copying every file (including the windows files), but i just can't start up in windows now, because when i choose to boot from my external drive, it doesn't give me the further option of mac/windows. Is there a way to circumvent this problem by maybe doing separate backups for each partition, or maybe figuring out a way to boot from the windows side of my laptop once the mac side is open? help is appreciated, i don't want to do something unneeded like buying another HDD or something. thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-13-2008, 11:48 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
We don't actually copy the Windows partition: we'd only copy the HFS+ volume you selected as the source...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-15-2008, 03:08 AM
BigMac BigMac is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Yeah my mac is set up sort of strange. I don't exactly know how it is set up, but the Windows half's hard drive will actually show up as another drive on the mac side's desktop and is labeled as Untitled. When i open it, i can view the windows files and folders and can even open them if i want (although most can't be read since they are windows). So the Windows side of the Mac is not side by side the Mac side, its under it or something. I'm not sure if i have a conventional partition.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-15-2008, 08:18 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That sounds like a conventional partition that's formatted as FAT32, unless you're running some other program that's 'showing you' a virtual drive.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacBook Pro Drive with Boot Camp to boot into Vista scottsdale General 1 06-11-2008 09:09 AM
SD 2.5 - Clone disk hangs on boot ashkit General 12 02-11-2008 10:41 AM
First Boot Experience, Seagate 400GB PushButton FW Works! greenjeens General 5 05-25-2006 08:19 AM
Is OSX OS9 dual boot clone possible? Rod Hagen General 1 03-27-2006 09:08 AM
ASR Image freeze PeterBest General 5 12-01-2004 10:02 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.