Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-30-2005, 12:56 AM
rwg4 rwg4 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
SuperDuper Backup of AES 128 Encrypted Disk Image

Hi,

First I want to say SuperDuper is a fantastic product keep up the good work!

I have been using SuperDuper to Backup my Mac HD with 2 External Firewire Drives (1 on 1 offsite). I am using the Smartupdate feature and it works great. I have just created a disk image to secure some files with OS x's disk utility. I am using the AES 128 encryption. I am very new to this so bear with me. I have placed the disk image in my "user" folder. When I "unlock" the disk image, the disk image gets placed on my desktop. Then I can access all of the files. When I eject the disk image, it "locks" up and goes back to my "user" folder. I'm assuming that when the disk image is "locked up" in my user folder that it is fully encrypted. And when it is open and on my desktop it is not encrypted.

1) My main question is, how do I use SuperDuper to backup the disk image as well as my main HD?

2) If I leave the disk image locked in my "user" folder and backup my Mac HD, will the disk image be backed up? Or is it considered a separate drive? The "copy from screen" in SuperDuper does show the disk image as a separate drive from the Mac HD. So I'm assuming I would have to make 2 backups, 1 for the Mac HD and 1 for the disk image.

3) If I leave the disk image locked. Will SuperDuper copy the encrypted files? Is this a good or bad way to backup?

4) I opened the disk image and SuperDuper shows the opened disk image in the copy from box. I'm assuming if the disk image is unlocked, superduper would backup the files when they aren't encrypted.

5) Would it be better to backup the disk image in an encrypted or unencrypted state? Obviously if it were encrypted it would be secure on the backup media. But would it be stable and safe?

Sorry for all of the questions. Thanks for any and all help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-30-2005, 01:27 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
There are a lot of questions there, but the answer is quite simple: the disk image itself is just a file like any other. The fact that it represents a disk image, or that its data is encrypted, doesn't really matter.

When you back up your user files, the disk image will be backed up as well. So, there's no need to do anything special -- I'd just endeavor to ensure that the image is unmounted and closed when you do your main backup.

If you were to try to back it up as a disk "drive", which you can do if you mount it and use it as a source, the result won't be encrpyted, which basically misses the point, so don't do that.

Make sense?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-30-2005, 09:18 AM
tedpearlman tedpearlman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Follow Up, this time with Knox

I have a similar question. I'm using Knox to maintain a couple of file vaults. When these encrypted vaults are open they appear as disk images. I have stored some key repositories of data in these vaults. For instance, I store the database for an organizational application. So, my question:

If the vault mentioned above is open and mounted and the organizational application that stores its database on that image is running and I backup using SuperDuper, what will be backed up? Will Super Duper just back up the vault FILE, which I assume would be still in the state it was PRIOR to it being mounted, rather than the current contents of that vault in open/unencrypted form?

Basically, if I backup with Super Duper in that scenario and my hard drive dies 5 minutes after the backup is complete, and I need to restore, what will I be left with, in terms of that vault, when I restore?

Thanks,

Ted
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-30-2005, 11:28 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
As long as the file system does a decent job flushing things to disk, it'll likely be OK. But, what I'd suggest trying it. Mount a vault, do some stuff, back up, then copy the vault sparse image from the backup and mount it (w/ a different name, clearly) to see what you get!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SuperDuper automounts disk images used for previous backups kbradnam General 1 03-11-2005 08:56 PM
Encypted Bootable Disk Image? jshea@alum.dart General 1 02-21-2005 04:41 PM
Backing up a partition to disk image unmounts that partition kbradnam General 8 02-17-2005 08:42 PM
Sparse Disk Image track record? Phil General 3 01-05-2005 02:45 PM
How do I update an image? dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 06-12-2004 11:05 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.