Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-20-2008, 10:53 PM
stoker stoker is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3
SD setup to copy wifes Tiger Mac Mini

I have iMac Leopard 10.52 Alum.mid 2007,, have a 1TB LaCie drive GUID format), non partitioned ,with about 200gb filled (mostly TM). I would like to upgrade Ram and HD in my wifes Mac mini. Can I use SD quite easily? and what would be the procedure to follow? Her total HD in Mac Mini is about 36 GB (almost full). Hopefully I can use SD to clone her existing HD, so as I can replace with a new one, and then restore using SD,, if that is possible. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-20-2008, 11:29 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,357
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Is the Mac mini an Intel of Power PC mini?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-21-2008, 05:10 PM
stoker stoker is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3
It is a Power PC MacMIni,, sorry forgot to mention that
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-21-2008, 06:01 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,357
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK, so -- no, you can't really use a GUID partitioned drive to do this. What I'd probably do is replace the HD, then put the old HD in an external case. Clean install the OS to the internal, then -- on first startup, when it prompts to 'copy from another Mac', point it at the old drive and have it bring in the data.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-22-2008, 06:24 PM
stoker stoker is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3
So Dave,, I guess that what you are saying is that I don't need or shouldn't need Superduper, right? and I gather that I should use the migration process in Tiger to import files etc?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-22-2008, 06:35 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,357
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I'm not suggesting you don't need SuperDuper! -- just that you don't need it for *this*.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Booting from backup guruuno General 27 10-17-2009 12:53 AM
Error in SD copy over FW between 2 FW drives Travers2K General 1 06-04-2007 12:19 PM
Setup Leopard & Tiger to use same home folder lonewolf2222 General 5 09-02-2006 10:56 AM
SD! & HDD copy speed fun DaleMeyn General 3 03-20-2006 05:24 PM
Error: No space left on device tradervic General 11 06-29-2005 05:50 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.