Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-04-2008, 09:50 AM
raindelay raindelay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 2
Send a message via Skype™ to raindelay
Restore from Tiger backup to reformatted Leopard drive?

My boot drive failed. I want to upgrade from Tiger to Leopard. If I reformat the drive using Leopard, does this mean I can not do a complete restoration from my backup? That is, will SuperDuper! want to restore the operating system (Tiger)? Will I have to restore file by file?

Details:

Yesterday I decided to upgrade to Leopard and started the installation from a new disk purchased from the Apple Store. The installation failed and the message said the drive had to be reformatted. I can no longer access or mount the drive.

I have a PowerMac G4 (new in November 2002), currently running Tiger OS X (10.4.11).
Specs:
Dual 1 GHz PowerPC G4
2GB DDR SDRAM
2 80GB hard drives (separate physical drives, not partitions). One HD is my boot drive, the other for additional storage. I have complete and current backups of both drives.

I am now working from the bootable backup on a Glyph drive, connected to my Mac via Firewire-400.

This is the second time Iíve had a problem with this boot drive. I reformatted it about a year ago. Would you advise giving up on the drive and making my second drive the boot drive?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-04-2008, 11:34 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You'll install Leopard and then, when it prompts to "copy from another Mac", point it at the backup. It'll bring in your applications and data. The "other" drive can be restored with SD! once the main drive is going.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-06-2008, 01:13 PM
raindelay raindelay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 2
Send a message via Skype™ to raindelay
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
You'll install Leopard and then, when it prompts to "copy from another Mac", point it at the backup.
Geez, I should have thought of that. Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 06:36 PM
Restoring my Super Duper Backup - Tiger or Leopard ? pauljulian General 1 11-02-2007 11:31 AM
Backup and Restore to Newly Partitioned Hard Drive Peterbart General 5 11-14-2006 11:18 AM
How to verify a Scheduled Backup? tuqqer General 3 12-06-2005 07:50 PM
Laptop freezes buring backup kaalm General 5 05-12-2005 05:15 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.