Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-16-2005, 02:08 PM
stevea stevea is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 38
TESTING: SuperDuper problems copying some data

I am encountering some problems where SuperDuper will not copy some data.

The data is known to be corrupt, so if you would like I might be able to help you test SuperDuper in this kind of situation.


History:

60GB Maxtor hard drive was corrupting data. (bad, bad Maxtor! Do NOT use Maxtor drives in Macs! My friend's business uses them in Tivo's, where he says they are extremely reliable. But there are lots and lots of Maxtor horror stories on Macs... YMMV.)

I copied data from the Maxtor to a good drive, and verified the data was duplicated correctly.

Some of the data was corrupt, however. (For example, files contained garbage.) There was also some more severe corruption, for example, folder could not be opened.

However, Disk Utilities and DiskWarrior both report the disk and its structure are healthy.

Both the Finder and Synchronize! Pro X can copy the hard drive.

However, SuperDuper cannot copy the drive. It fails and reports this error:

console.log:
Mac OS X Version 10.3.9 (Build 7W98)
2005-05-16 10:21:38 -0500
2005-05-16 10:39:22.797 SuperDuper![500] ***ERROR OCCURRED: ditto: can't get real path for source

SuperDuper!.log:
|10:39:22 AM|Info| WARNING: Caught I/O exception(2): No such file or directory
|10:39:22 AM|Info| WARNING: Source: /Volumes/Macintosh Data/60 GB - "OK"/Developer/Documentation/Help/QuickTime, lstat(): 0
|10:39:22 AM|Info| WARNING: Target: /Volumes/Hard Drive/60 GB - "OK"/Developer/Documentation/Help/QuickTime, lstat(): -1
|10:39:22 AM|Info| WARNING: Could not copy file with Cocoa frameworks. Attempting to copy with ditto.
|10:39:22 AM|Error| ditto: can't get real path for source


Investigating further, it is possible to open the folder "/Volumes/Macintosh Data/60 GB - "OK"/Developer/Documentation/Help/QuickTime" in Finder.

However, the files inside the folder are indeed corrupted.


The corrupted data from the bad Maxtor drive has been the bane of my existence ever since it occurred.

This particular folder is non-essential, but there is other data that is (was) valuable.

The vexing part of the situation is that there are 10's of GB's of data, and thus far it has been impossible to discover which data is good and which data is corrupt.

Thus, I have to continue to store and maintain much more data than necessary, in the event that some of the data is good, although it is uncertain data! Arrggh!



1. Any suggestions how to identify corrupt data here would be most welcome!!! It would be very helpful to be able to effectively separate the wheat from the chaff...

2. If there is anything I can do using this situation to help test SuperDuper!, please let me know how I might be able to help.

3. Note that SuperDuper! cannot copy some files, although those files are easily copied by the Finder. What is wrong here?


Thank you!
________
Honda Spree history

Last edited by stevea; 03-10-2011 at 12:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-16-2005, 02:50 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It's hard to know what could be done here: the difference between what we're doing and what's "working" (in Finder, for example), is that Finder and Synchronize Pro are going to be using Carbon file calls (native to HFS+).

We're using Cocoa calls, which operate with the Unix paths (as does ditto, which is also generating an error). Speaking out of relative ignorance of the HFS+ file system drivers, there might be a wacky mis-mapping between the two layers which is causing a problem. That could explain why Finder can sometimes copy a file that SuperDuper! can't, too.

I don't understand, though, how Finder and Sync Pro can copy the drive if the data's corrupted. They're not copying the drive: they're partially copying the drive, I believe -- no?

This might be a situation where rebuilding the HFS+ catalog would help, or at least be worth a shot. There's a paper about it at the Coriolis Systems site:

http://www.coriolis-systems.com/manu...logRebuild.pdf

(I may have mentioned this to you before.)
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-16-2005, 04:00 PM
stevea stevea is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
I don't understand, though, how Finder and Sync Pro can copy the drive if the data's corrupted. They're not copying the drive: they're partially copying the drive, I believe -- no?
Nope. They are copying everything correctly.

(Of course, the corrupted data files are still corrupted after they are copied.)


Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
This might be a situation where rebuilding the HFS+ catalog would help, or at least be worth a shot.
Nope. As I said, the drive structure was deemed healthy by Disk Utility and DiskWarrior. The catalog is fine and rebuilds with DiskWarrior with no problems.

Maybe it's more clear if I say the "drive data" is flawless, but the good drive contains "corrupted data files". Or, even more precisely, there are good files which contain corrupted data.

Now that that's clear, to confuse things a little- remember the history is the bad Maxtor was indeed a thoroughly-corrupted drive (bad catalog, bad data, piece of garbage, spawn of satan drive), but we are now dealing with the good drive that has the copy of the Maxtor's contents.

Here's what's going on:

evil, bad, corrupted Maxtor => good drive

Now trying to use SuperDuper! to copy (SuperDuper fails, Finder works!):
good drive (with bad Maxtor data) => another drive


Hope this helps...
________
Silver Surfer Vaporizer

Last edited by stevea; 03-10-2011 at 12:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-16-2005, 04:30 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I don't think you can say they're good files, Steve: something's clearly wacky, since they can't be copied with SuperDuper! or ditto (and probably not with cp or other Unix-level tools either).

I did see that Disk Warrior says the catalog is "fine" (though you didn't indicate that you had rebuilt), but maybe fsck does the rebuild differently and might work around the issue.

Try copying a file that won't copy with SD! with ditto and cp, in Terminal (making sure to preserve the resource fork with ditto). Do they work?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-16-2005, 04:42 PM
stevea stevea is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
I did see that Disk Warrior says the catalog is "fine" (though you didn't indicate that you had rebuilt)
As I said, DiskWarrior rebuilds the disk with no problems. Yes, the disk has been rebuilt.


Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
I don't think you can say they're good files, Steve: something's clearly wacky, since they can't be copied with SuperDuper! or ditto (and probably not with cp or other Unix-level tools either).
In addition to the Finder, Synchronize! Pro X copies the files without problems. Also, Synchronize! Pro X verifies both its own copying and the Finder copying. The Finder copying is perfectly identical to the original.


Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
Try copying a file that won't copy with SD! with ditto and cp, in Terminal (making sure to preserve the resource fork with ditto). Do they work?
I need help to do this, I'm not familiar how to do it.
________
EASY VAPE VAPORIZER

Last edited by stevea; 03-10-2011 at 12:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-16-2005, 04:50 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
To copy with ditto and cp, open a Terminal window. Then, issue the command:

sudo ditto -rsrcFork "path-to-source" "path-to-destination"

Your paths have quotes in them, so I've used '' for quoting. For example:

sudo ditto -rsrcFork '/Volumes/Macintosh Data/60 GB - "OK"/Developer/Documentation/Help/QuickTime' '/Volumes/Hard Drive/60 GB - "OK"/Developer/Documentation/Help/QuickTime'

cp would be used the same way, but if you're not under Tiger, it won't preserve resources, so probably isn't a good example. But, the syntax would be:

sudo cp '/Volumes/Macintosh Data/60 GB - "OK"/Developer/Documentation/Help/QuickTime' '/Volumes/Hard Drive/60 GB - "OK"/Developer/Documentation/Help/QuickTime'
__________________
--Dave Nanian

Last edited by dnanian; 05-16-2005 at 04:55 PM. Reason: Forgot the 'sudo'
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Data integrity question- how much verification by SuperDuper? stevea General 17 05-22-2005 12:42 PM
I've told SuperDuper! to ignore a folder, but it still displays during copying. Why? dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 12-24-2004 03:36 PM
Security of SuperDuper Backup Data? Zeigh General 1 08-08-2004 01:29 PM
SuperDuper Problems LParrish General 3 06-28-2004 02:25 AM
Another review: MaMUGs looks at SuperDuper! dnanian General 0 01-26-2004 10:26 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.