Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-10-2008, 01:13 PM
mrpeepers mrpeepers is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Leopard, SuperDuper, Scheduling, Sleeping

Does anyone else have the FULL/PAID version of SuperDuper and Schedule your backups?

If yes, if your computer is sleeping, and the SuperDuper job is scheduled, will the computer (iMac) wake to perform the backup?

I had mine scheduled last night, but my computer sleeps with 30 minutes of no activity, and I came back to the computer this morning and NO BACKUP Occurred!

Help!

Thoughts?

M
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-10-2008, 01:37 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, it won't. See the User's Guide section on scheduling for a discussion and what to do...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-10-2008, 05:19 PM
mrpeepers mrpeepers is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
got it

thanks bro
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-11-2008, 04:30 AM
edesignuk edesignuk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9
I do exactly this. Use Schedule in Power prefs to wake the machine, then 5 mins after waking have SD set to run and sleep computer on completion.

Works perfectly too, except for last night when it appears not to have run at all Gotta look in to that.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-11-2008, 10:40 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You should actually set the wake event for 1 minute before the scheduled copy time...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-11-2008, 10:56 AM
jgarbers jgarbers is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
I don't remember having to do this before... I thought SD would wake the Mac up itself to do the backup. Am I remembering wrong (wouldn't be the first time for that) or is there something different in Leopard that keeps SD from being able to wake up the Mac?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-24-2008, 03:18 AM
denke denke is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 17
Why 1 minute, not 5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
You should actually set the wake event for 1 minute before the scheduled copy time...
Is there a reason 1 minute is preferable to 5 minutes, aside from the tiny power savings?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Superduper useful with Leopard now??? bobmoore1954 General 1 01-24-2008 06:22 PM
SuperDuper? Not very... Keychain crash, Leopard, backups -- oh my! jacob.patton General 1 12-22-2007 12:22 PM
Disk cloning with Leopard until SuperDuper comes out? badlydrawnboy General 7 12-13-2007 07:42 PM
Cannot Read SuperDuper! Image from Tiger in Leopard ecornips General 2 12-11-2007 10:50 PM
Leopard Time Machine vs. SuperDuper MMM General 5 07-05-2007 06:20 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.