Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-29-2007, 10:02 AM
rmf rmf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 18
Cool Feature request - turn off Time Machine on clone

I know you are buried in doing a Leopard compatible version of SD!, but could you consider this for a future feature. In order not to mess up Time Machine, if one boots to a clone to do maintenance on a boot drive, for example, one must quickly turn off Time machine manually (to prevent TM from eating up space by backing up the clone), also, one must turn off .mac synching to avoid losing data, and one must make changes to the drives that spotlight indexes.

So,,,,, would it be possible to make a clone, but with some options, like ---
- Turn off TM in clone
- Turn off mac synch in clone

Since the TM option is an "on/off" switch in a system preference would this be difficult?

Just a thought.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-29-2007, 10:24 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It's something we'll consider for the future, but I haven't had either problem... have you set Time Machine up to ignore your copy?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-29-2007, 02:46 PM
rmf rmf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 18
Time machine is set to ignore the clone. But if you boot from the clone, time machine will be on and will copy to the time machine designated disk -- it will do a complete copy of something, eating space on the time machine disk unnecessarily. If there were an option in Superduper to turn off time machine on the clone, one could boot from the clone without having to manually turn off time machine after booting. One wants a copy of one's boot drive only in time machine presumably. Perhaps this is also a time machine issue.

This issue came up with me because of a weird bug in x.5 where if one is using a software raid mirror as boot, on a scheduled shutdown and restart the mirror won't be recognized, os X.5 boots to the clone. The machine was unattended when this happened to me and with time machine on, it took 150 gig of my time machine drive by making a complete fresh copy of something (don't know if it was the clone or the original boot). Had to start time machine over again from scratch. BTW this os x.5 bug doesn't occur if you do a manual restart, only on a scheduled restart after a shutdown.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-29-2007, 02:53 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That's weird. But it seems like a Time Machine bug, don't you think?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-29-2007, 03:08 PM
rmf rmf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 18
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
That's weird. But it seems like a Time Machine bug, don't you think?
2 bugs actually. An os x.5 bug that won't boot to a mirror only on scheduled restart. Bug 2 is a time machine bug that copies an entire disk (labeled clone) when it is the boot disk even though "clone" is excluded in time machine from the disk from which it was made. For some reason backup thinks that "clone" is "macintosh hd". Of course, this could also be a bug in the SD substitute I am using for now - wouldn't rule that out either.

Methinks it possible though that someone based in a state that starts with "C" and in a city starting with "C" at an "infinite" address put out a cake that wasn't wholly baked.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-29-2007, 03:40 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It could be, if it changes the UUID of the drive it's copying to, yes, since the exclusions are done by UUID.

Note that, if you figure out how to accomplish this, you can use an "after copy" shell script to achieve your goal (and others similar things as well)...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 06:36 PM
backup file size—SD vs. Time Machine jotaro General 10 06-23-2009 11:00 AM
Will Time Machine make SuperDuper obsolete? JAC II General 9 11-07-2007 04:54 PM
Cloning a Time Machine Volume barrysharp General 5 10-31-2007 12:58 AM
A different angle on SD & Time Machine integration badlydrawnboy General 10 10-26-2007 09:37 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.