Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2007, 04:11 AM
stephenb stephenb is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Disk image won't mount for scheduled backups

Has anybody seen this? The sparseimg was created by SD, but it can't seem to mount it. Do I need to script it to mount first?

Also, If I'm backing up to 2 different images on 2 different drives do I need to make sure the GUID of the images are the same, or just of the physical drive?

And, is there any way to have SD email the log to me after each running? I have a couple clients in different locations and it would be great if I got an email showing me problems, instead of having to log in every day? Also, are the logs erased each time, or is there a place I can view the logs from the last week or month?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2007, 08:42 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
What error do you get when the image won't mount?

Don't mess with the GUID for images: it's not checked -- it's only used for direct volume copies.

There are posts on the forum elsewhere where users have contributed log-emailing solutions. Also, you can see the last 10 logs -- Cmd-click the title bar of an existing log window and choose the "Logs" folder.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-21-2007, 03:07 AM
stephenb stephenb is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
From the log: (dang, can't copy and paste across VNC)

ACTION: Mounting gouper_bkup
COMMAND => Preparing grouper_bkup
hdiutil: create failed - No such file or directory
****FAILED*****: result=256 errno=0 (Unknown error:0)

If I mount the img first, it works fine.

I'll search for the emailed logs.

Last edited by stephenb; 06-21-2007 at 03:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-21-2007, 09:14 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It looks like the image isn't in the location it was in originally.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-21-2007, 07:38 PM
stephenb stephenb is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Okay, let me explain my set up. I am backing up to an img which resides on an external drive. I would like to swap out that external drive each week.

Can I do this? I haven't changed the GUID on the second drive, but am guessing that this is the problem.

Am I correct, or is this impossible?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-21-2007, 07:40 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, it doesn't check the GUID. Is it named the same?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple errors of kind: "Caught I/O exception(5): Input/output error" amagjo General 7 04-14-2009 11:01 PM
Can't mount disk image marcus General 3 04-16-2007 11:59 AM
mount ejected disk, back up to disk image twhid General 3 12-29-2006 06:43 PM
Undersized disk image and a Boot Camp-related backup question garybollocks General 3 10-23-2006 02:07 PM
SuperDuper Backup of AES 128 Encrypted Disk Image rwg4 General 3 11-30-2005 11:28 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.