Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-20-2005, 01:55 PM
na goodman na goodman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 13
Applying system update to safety clone

I had super duper clone all files to an external fw drive. My question is can I boot
from the backup clone and apply a system update to that or do I have to make
a safety clone and apply a system update. If I make a safety clone would I erase
the back up clone and if all went well when booted from the original mac hd I
could back up all files again. I already had partioned the external firewire drive
but could possible partition the drive again. Would I then have both a full
backup clone and a safety clone? I'm just a bit confused my the terminology.
Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-20-2005, 02:06 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Sure, you can apply an update to a full clone: it just acts like another volume, so that's no problem. However, any changes you'd make while booted from that clone stay on the clone... so, there's no way to roll back while retaining your user data.

With a Safety Clone, when you roll back your user data is retained, so you don't lose things like mail, documents, or whatever else you were doing on the clone.

With a safety clone, once you've decided you're happy with the update you have two choices: boot back to the original and install, then update the safety clone, or clone from the Safety Clone back to the original volume (scary).

In all cases, your 'regular' backup would always back up the main drive, not the safety clone -- there's nothing on the Safety Clone that you can't "get back" easily, since it's just a copy of the main drive's OS with whatever updates you've applied. Your data still resides on the main drive. So, yes -- you'd want *both* a full backup and a safety clone.

Make sense?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-20-2005, 02:18 PM
na goodman na goodman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 13
I think it makes sense. I'll partition the external drive again reclone and make
a safety clone on the other partition. I'm more impressed how quickly you responded. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-20-2005, 04:41 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No problem!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Safety Clone and Apple Backup query jawnl General 3 01-30-2005 11:41 PM
Safety Clone fails to start up after shut down macWish General 4 06-23-2004 06:29 PM
PGP from a Safety Clone wavenumber General 4 06-17-2004 02:51 PM
Installations Pete_Bull General 7 04-14-2004 06:12 PM
When I use a Safety Clone, LaunchBar isn't locating my Applications! dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 04-02-2004 12:33 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.