Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-04-2006, 08:58 PM
Timmy Timmy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 93
Quick cloning question

Hi,

I use SD! regularly for my back-up needs and it always seems to work well for me.

My question isn't necessarily specific to SD! but I hope you can address it, nevertheless.

I have installed a fresh copy of 10.4.8 on an external FW volume and I am in the process of re-installing my other apps and files onto it (while booted from it.)

Once it is configured to my liking, I plan to clone the newly configured FW volume onto my PowerBook as my start-up volume.

My question is, what method should I use to clone the FW volume onto the PowerBook? So far I have come-up with the following possibilities:

A) Start-up from the external FW and use the copy of SD! installed on it to do an 'Erase/Copy' from the FW to PowerBook.

B) Start-up from the external FW and use DiskUtility to erase the PowerBook volume and then use the 'Restore' function of DiskUtility to copy the FW volume to the PowerBook.

C) Start-up from my 10.4.3 Tiger Install DVD and use DiskUtility to erase the PowerBook volume and then use the "Restore' function of DiskUtility to copy the FW volume to the PowerBook.

D) Or I should stop thinking so hard and just pick one...

Thanks for any insights.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-04-2006, 09:03 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,339
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
In the end, just pick one.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-04-2006, 09:13 PM
Timmy Timmy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
In the end, just pick one.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-04-2006, 10:10 PM
Timmy Timmy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 93
Seriously, any suggestions for making sure this goes smoothly?

Or, is my scenario essentially a garden variety 'restore' as described on page 27 of the SD! manual...?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-04-2006, 10:11 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,339
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That's all it is, Timmy. Pretty basic stuff...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-10-2006, 03:06 PM
Cintra Cintra is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 8
My experience with a new iMac is that b) would be much faster, followed by Smart copying from there on in..

mvh
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unexpected Quit cloning to Mac Pro MacDorq General 8 11-28-2006 12:47 PM
Newbie question tripperharrison General 14 08-04-2006 01:21 PM
Question about cloning musos General 5 02-27-2006 05:57 PM
Quick question from a newbie flashman59 General 1 10-12-2005 06:55 PM
How long for cloning? BorisMD General 26 09-25-2005 03:32 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.