Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-12-2006, 07:53 AM
MicroSlob MicroSlob is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
[BUG] SuperDuper does not work on Bootable CD

I find it extremely odd that SuperDuper is the ONLY backup utility that doesn't work from an OSX Bootable CD.

Created a custom OSX boot Cd with BootCD from http://www.charlessoft.com/
Attempted to run SuperDuper from the CD when started up from it's OSX

And this was all I got from Console:

===== Wednesday, April 12, 2006 5:30:21 AM Canada/Eastern =====
2006-04-12 05:30:27.362 SuperDuper![1214] LOGGED EXCEPTION: NSInvalidArgumentException, reason: launch path not accessible, userInfo: (null)

2006-04-12 05:30:27.362 SuperDuper![1214] Exception raised during posting of notification. Ignored. exception: launch path not accessible
2006-04-12 05:30:34.792 SuperDuper![1214] LOGGED EXCEPTION: NSInvalidArgumentException, reason: launch path not accessible, userInfo: (null)

2006-04-12 05:30:34.792 SuperDuper![1214] launch path not accessible


I tried six other backup tools, and only SuperDuper failed from my custom BootCD.

Is there a work around for this or will there be an update to address this?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-12-2006, 09:33 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Sorry. We don't run from Read-only media... we need to set up our folder in Library/Application Support and expect to be able to write to our log, settings and preferences.

A CD won't allow for that, and thus we won't run.

Note, though, that you can use Disk Utility to restore a SuperDuper! backup if you can't boot from the backup itself. The technique is documented in the User's Guide.

Since a bootable CD isn't really something that Apple supports, and using Disk Utility to restore should work fine, fixing this isn't really a high priority. That isn't to say we won't ever look at it, just that it's way back in line...
__________________
--Dave Nanian

Last edited by dnanian; 04-12-2006 at 09:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-15-2006, 11:51 AM
MicroSlob MicroSlob is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Ok, got it.

No problem, I'll try using some symbolic links like I had with some other tools.

BootCD creates 2 ramdisks to store exactly that, all writable files. Adding a few links won't hurt to try.

Thanks for the tip!

As for Apple's recommendations on BootCD's, I'd follow it, but for one fact, their CD does little when things hit the fan and I live on a farm 3 hours from any Apple dealer.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-15-2006, 12:05 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
If you have your OS CD (like a Tiger or Panther CD), it'll still work as an emergency restore mechanism -- no Apple Dealer necessary.

You might be able to convince SD! to run if you point things at the ramdisk: you'll want your Home folder/library up there (which you can set in Netinfo)...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it cool (safe, prudent, wise ) to work on the source drive while SuperDuper is wor killen@comcast. General 2 03-13-2006 01:29 PM
making external hard drive bootable with SuperDuper mustangpcc General 3 12-27-2005 01:23 PM
Does SuperDuper have to be running for scheduling to work? chabig General 3 12-02-2005 08:19 PM
Would SuperDuper! work for me? Praxis General 0 06-15-2005 08:35 PM
will SuperDuper work for my requirements? jchou General 1 03-05-2005 05:48 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.