Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2006, 12:41 PM
polarbear polarbear is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
SD failed to quit & iTunes

Hi, Dave!

I'm finally implementing a backup solution and have given SuperDuper! a spin. Here are my questions.

I have a 80GB laptop drive in two partitions: A (8.5GB), B (66GB). A is a bootable OS X 10.3.9 with recovery tools, B is the same but my usual boot partition. I have a 300GB drive (Seagate Barracuda) in a FireWire case (AMS Venus DS3** which is USB 2.0/FireWire 400). I partitioned it: C (80GB), D (199GB).

**Model DS-2316CBK if anyone is interested. It works with Mac for FireWire booting. Has a 4 pin FireWire port and a 6 pin, so you can daisy chain. Comes with a power adapter with a normal plug that won't hog more than one outlet.

Procedure:
1. I wanted to copy B to C.
2. Test to see if I can reboot off of C (which should have B's system files).
3. Move my personal files off of B onto D, and clear out some of the files from C to D***
4. Reformat the laptop completely. Likely I'll go back to the one partition default.
5. Copy C back to the laptop (or reinstall from scratch if this is not possible, but it seems to be ok).

***The D partition I plan to organize as a complete archive of my disparate files, manually, in the best OS 9-era- spacial-finder- personal-folder-structure tradition. SuperDuper! will not be handling the archive part, just the backup to C.


Refuses to quit

I thought I managed the first step. I only had SuperDuper running, and after the copy I had wanted to reboot from C to see if it would work. I got:

Logout has timed out because the
application SuperDuper failed to quit. To
try again, quit SuperDuper and choose
Log Out from the Apple menu.

You can use the Force Quit menu item in the Apple
menu (or press Command+Option+Esc) to quit an
unresponsive application.
[ OK ]


So I just quit the app and restarted. Here's the console for launching SuperDuper! but before copying:

## Component Manager: attempting to find symbols in a component alias of type (imdc/MP42/MSFT)
crontab: no crontab for polarbear
2006-02-01 19:42:36.629 SuperDuper![737] attribute terminology dictionary not found for attribute path in class AbstractObject in suite NSCoreSuite
2006-02-01 19:42:36.629 SuperDuper![737] attribute terminology dictionary not found for attribute path in class NSDocument in suite NSCoreSuite
2006-02-01 19:42:36.629 SuperDuper![737] attribute terminology dictionary not found for attribute path in class SDSessionSettings in suite SuperDuperSuite


And this is after the above error occured:

2006-02-01 21:12:59.017 SuperDuper![737] ***ERROR OCCURRED: ## Component Manager: attempting to find symbols in a component alias of type (imdc/MP42/MSFT)

The end of the SuperDuper log gives:

| 09:12:52 PM | Info | PHASE: 3. After Successful Copy
| 09:12:52 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Making North Pole bootable
| 09:12:52 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Blessing OS X System Folder
| 09:12:56 PM | Info | Successfully blessed Mac OS X folder on North Pole
| 09:12:56 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Blessing OS 9 System Folder
| 09:12:56 PM | Info | Successfully blessed Mac OS 9 System Folder on North Pole
| 09:12:56 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Restoring Spotlight search indexing state on North Pole
| 09:12:56 PM | Info | Indexing was not enabled because North Pole is not a 10.4 Volume
| 09:12:56 PM | Info | PHASE: 4. And Finally...
| 09:12:56 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Rebooting from North Pole
| 09:12:56 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Setting startup disk to North Pole
| 09:12:56 PM | Info | Successfully set North Pole as startup disk
| 09:12:56 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Restarting computer
| 09:12:56 PM | Info | Copy complete.

| 09:12:59 PM | Error | ## Component Manager: attempting to find symbols in a component alias of type (imdc/MP42/MSFT)

I rebooted with haxies off if that's the next question.

Manually quitting (from the menubar) and restarting gives me a copy booting from the backup. Yay!


iTunes

If I make a backup of my iTunes library and restore this to the same computer, will it subtract one from the number of computers I can play my songs on? I don't think it would, but I fear some weird application of DRM and/or Murphy's Law!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-02-2006, 01:01 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It looks like when we try to quit SD! (which we do with "osascript"), it's giving an error due to a bad component. I'm not sure what this particular component is, but it might even be removed -- I'd try rebuilding your LaunchServices database (use Onyx or similar) and restarting to see if it clears up.

A failure to quit is also a known issue if you used Erase-then-copy, and is fixed in the next release. However, that would generate an exception in the Console, not this particular error, so I don't think that's necessarily the problem here.

As far as iTunes goes, it shouldn't subtract an activation, as the activation is not based on the drive -- it's based, as far as I know, on the computer's serial number, etc. Reactivation of the same computer won't deduct an activation.

Hope that helps!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-02-2006, 01:15 PM
polarbear polarbear is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Thanks for the quick reply!

I run some maintenance and see if that component thing clears up.

Something new:

I just launched my mail app (PowerMail) from backup and see that my default reading font, Andale Mono, is reset to Monaco. Andale Mono is stored in the OS 9/Classic folder. Would this be a setting or link to the font that is cached and therefore not copied? I'm going to reboot and see if the original still uses it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-02-2006, 01:26 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, those things are copied. But PowerMail might refer to it in an unusual way. Try booting back, then rename the backup to the same name as the source. Then, Smart Update the backup and boot from it again.

If the font doesn't show up, open FontBook and verify that it's in there...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-02-2006, 02:21 PM
polarbear polarbear is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
I booted back up on the laptop and renamed the drive. Now I have two source drives "Arctic" and "Arctic 1". I suspect Arctic is the original Arctic, but I'm not really sure which is which. Sorry, that's too close. The pop-up list is in alphabetical order which doesn't help. I named it differently to prevent confusion!

I had applied a custom icon to my laptop partition. The backup partition has the same icon. Now my desktop has two identical looking drives, even with the name. It doesn't add the " 1" to the Desktop icon name. What if the Finder resets and resorts the desktop icon order? (This rarely happens, but in moments like these...) While I know about the set_icon script, I didn't run it at the time. I'm guessing this would have allowed me to see the external partitions as external. This icon thing should not be a poweruser step.

I renamed the backup to its original name, but I don't even want to run just the set_icon script to fix it. I had opened my e-mail database and added mail to it on the backup. But I had to open it on the original to see if the font was different (it was Andale Mono, so that's ok). Which backup option will not delete my older (yet more up-to-date) mail database on the backup in favor of the newer (because I opened it, not because I added anything to it) mail database on the original? How will I be able to tell the difference between two versions on the backup?

I'll run some maintentence utilities, but I'm not going to do the renaming step. That the backup has a different name than the original seems to explain it. I think it would help for SuperDuper to distinguish between internal and external drives, and also have some way/option of automatically handling the custom icons issue. Not to perpetuate a bad interface idea, but the popup could identify the bus (by physical hard disk type, ala Disk Utility) as a non-selectable menu item, then have the selectable options on that bus below it, ala the Labels menu item in the Finder (i.e. a non-selectable "Color Label:" then selectable choices below it).

This is not to dis your troubleshooting! But the renaming thing gets creepy.

Thanks again for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-02-2006, 02:52 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
We won't let you select the boot drive as a target, and Finder always names the boot with the name, and the 2nd drive with "1". (Or "2".)

When you see the volume on the desktop, though, it shows its real volume name, as opposed to its "mount name".

Icons are actually files on the drive, which is why they're copied. (Otherwise, a round-trip wouldn't give you back the same icon.) We're looking into alternate methods of "preservation".

I'm not sure what you mean by the "older, yet more up to date". There aren't two versions on the backup -- we don't keep old version around. So, when you Smart Update, the backup will once again exactly resemble the source...

Thanks for the other suggestions -- I'll keep them in mind!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SD V2 not being able to save settings bammi General 1 12-01-2005 11:35 AM
Is there a way to test iTunes 6? jmkiska General 1 10-15-2005 08:51 AM
iTunes Library, playlists gone missing! camner General 3 09-27-2005 01:59 PM
Mac Mini as dedicated iTunes Server Dr.Blueberry General 7 07-30-2005 02:31 PM
iTunes menu commands tgibbs General 3 08-21-2002 11:16 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.