Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Backup a specific folder (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=915)

leejoramo 12-12-2005 09:53 PM

Backup a specific folder
 
How do I tell SuperDuper to backup just a specified folder? For example, lets say that I want to just backup my document folder /Macintosh HD/Users/myuser/Documents/

dnanian 12-13-2005 10:08 AM

You'd use a copy script, Lee. Basically:

- Choose File > New Copy Script
- Enter a description in the first tab -- this appears in the WGTH? section
- Include "Exclude all files" in the 2nd tab
- Add your folder to the 3rd tab
- Save with an appropriate name, and choose instead of "Backup - all files" (or whatever you're using) in the main window

That's all there is to it. NOTE, though, that if you use Smart Update, everything except this folder will be removed from the destination volume. If you're doing this to outsmart Smart Update and "speed up" an update by selecting a subset of your files to partially update on an existing backup, it won't have the effect you want...

berenhand 12-15-2005 04:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dnanian
You'd use a copy script, Lee. Basically:

- Choose File > New Copy Script
- Enter a description in the first tab -- this appears in the WGTH? section
- Include "Exclude all files" in the 2nd tab
- Add your folder to the 3rd tab
- Save with an appropriate name, and choose instead of "Backup - all files" (or whatever you're using) in the main window

That's all there is to it. NOTE, though, that if you use Smart Update, everything except this folder will be removed from the destination volume. If you're doing this to outsmart Smart Update and "speed up" an update by selecting a subset of your files to partially update on an existing backup, it won't have the effect you want...


I am glad to have SuperDuper for cloning and incremental backups. I also want to make specific incremental backups of some directories to DVD RAM and before going shopping for the cheapest but friendliest backup software I thought I would check if SuperDuper is already that software? And if so how would I proceed?

dnanian 12-15-2005 05:48 PM

Alas, sorry: we're not designed to back up to Optical media (although, if the DVD-RAM was formatted as HFS+, it *might* work...)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.