Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   maintaining target volume icon (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=826)

yoxi 11-23-2005 03:00 PM

maintaining target volume icon
 
Hello there

Enjoying the ease-of-use of v2, (and free upgrade) thanks.

I've mentioned this before, I think: it'd be good to have an option in the prefs to maintain the volume icon of the target volume. In these days of 'choice is god', many of us out here have our own carefully-chosen icons, themes etc. and as things stand, I have to run a pre-flight shell script to save my icon to a temp file, and then a post-flight script to restore it afterwards.

And I need a separate pre-flight script for each different target volume, unless there's a way to pass the volume name through in the call in prefs?

Any chances of adding the icon save option for saving in the individual backup prefs files?

- yoxi

dnanian 11-23-2005 03:09 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Well, the thing is that the icon is a file that's part of the backup, and if you restore that backup, you'd end up with the wrong icon... but, I have a solution.

Put the icon you want in a folder called "Volume Icons" in your Home. Name each icon with the name of the volume.VolumeIcon.icns -- e.g. Macintosh HD.VolumeIcon.icns.

Then, use this script as the "after copy" script. Note that you need to have the developer tools installed *or* the source of the backup needs to have a custom icon.

Let me know if that works.

priller 12-02-2005 05:11 PM

Guess the question is ...... What changed? Loosing the target icon only started in v2.0.

I set the custom volume icons with CandyBar. When SuperDuper completes it's daily Smart Update, the target volume custom icon is lost. Prior to v2, this never happened.

dnanian 12-02-2005 05:13 PM

I can't see how that could be the case: this behavior has always been the case (and we've received complaints about it before the release of 2.0, as you can see by searching the forums).

Are you sure you've been doing the same thing this whole time?

Harry Cover 12-12-2005 07:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dnanian
Put the icon you want in a folder called "Volume Icons" in your Home. Name each icon with the name of the volume.VolumeIcon.icns -- e.g. Macintosh HD.VolumeIcon.icns.

Then, use this script as the "after copy" script. Note that you need to have the developer tools installed *or* the source of the backup needs to have a custom icon.

Let me know if that works.

I have tried this and it does not work.
Maybe I have not understood where to put the "Volume Icons" folder and the "Set icon" script.
I have not the developer tools installed, but the source of my backup does have a custom icon.
Thanks to help me.

dnanian 12-12-2005 07:38 PM

OK, Harry. Where did you create the folder named "Volume Icons"? It should be in your Home folder. And did you place the icon file in there with the proper name?

Harry Cover 12-13-2005 03:28 AM

Thanks Dave for quick replying.

I boot from the Sandbox.
This maybe my problem explanation.

When I launch the script, the 2 first steps of the copy process are OK, but the third one called the "After successful copy" step, gets coloured in red, with the error message : "Failed to run shell script set_icon".

Is the icon folder supposed to be on the "Master" HD or on the Sandbox ?
I have tried both locations, without success.

Same question about the script ?
Il have copied it to: "/Applications/Utilities/SuperDuper!.app/Contents/Resources/Copy Scripts/set_icon", on the Sandbox.
Was I right ?

My Backup disk name is... Ahem... "Backup". ;)
The icon Unix path and name are "/Volumes/iMac G5/Users/parents/Volume Icons/Backup.VolumeIcon.icns".

Please forgive my poor english. I hope I made it clear enough.
We french people, here in Paris, love and use SD too.
"Merci beaucoup".

Yours.
HC

dnanian 12-13-2005 10:34 AM

Ah, OK. It's not a "Copy Script" -- it's a shell script.

Place set_icon in your Home folder instead, and make sure that when you look at it in Finder, its "icon" is a Unix Executable. Then, fix your "after copy" shell script choice in options.

The icon looks just about right, as long as you're logged in as "parents" when you run.

That should fix it, I hope. And thanks for taking the time to get in touch and for your english -- believe me, it's far better than my terrible french.

"De rien" :)

Harry Cover 12-13-2005 11:28 AM

I did as you said, but it does not work.
The icon is still changed.

As I said before:
When I launch the script, the 2 first steps of the copy process are OK, but the third one called the "After successful copy" step, gets coloured in red, with the error message : "Failed to run shell script set_icon".

Devil is in details.
Thanks anyway.
HC

dnanian 12-13-2005 11:31 AM

Could you look into the log and see what error you get there?

Harry Cover 12-13-2005 11:43 AM

The end of the log:

| 04:22:12 PM | Info | Indexing enabled for volume.
| 04:22:12 PM | Info | Indexing enabled on Backup
| 04:22:12 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Running shell script set_icon
| 04:22:12 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Invoking site customization script: /Volumes/iMac G5/Users/parents/set_icon
| 04:22:12 PM | Info | Restoring icon for Backup...
| 04:22:12 PM | Error | cp: /Users/parents/Volume Icons/Backup.VolumeIcon.icns is a directory (not copied).

dnanian 12-13-2005 11:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Harry Cover
| 04:22:12 PM | Error | cp: /Users/parents/Volume Icons/Backup.VolumeIcon.icns is a directory (not copied).

OK -- so, it sounds like the real problem is that your icon isn't a good icon. Possible?

Try setting the Backup icon once by hand, then run the following in Terminal:

Code:

cp "/Volumes/Backup/.VolumeIcon.icns" "/Users/parents/Volume Icons/Backup.VolumeIcon.icns"

Harry Cover 12-13-2005 03:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dnanian
OK -- so, it sounds like the real problem is that your icon isn't a good icon. Possible?

Try setting the Backup icon once by hand, then run the following in Terminal:

Code:

cp "/Volumes/Backup/.VolumeIcon.icns" "/Users/parents/Volume Icons/Backup.VolumeIcon.icns"

And then ?
:confused:

dnanian 12-13-2005 04:41 PM

Try again! :)

Harry Cover 12-14-2005 02:39 AM

I have tried once more.
Hopeless ! :mad: :mad:
Always the same error message: "Failed to run shell script set_icon" and the iccon is lost.

Confirmation:
I have pasted the following text in the terminal, without removing anything.
Was I right ?

cp "/Volumes/Backup/.VolumeIcon.icns" "/Users/parents/Volume Icons/Backup.VolumeIcon.icns"

Thanks a lot for your patient help.
I appreciate.

Yours.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:03 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.