Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Cloned HD...now I get a grey screen (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=806)

mpw995 11-16-2005 11:16 PM

Cloned HD...now I get a grey screen
 
I am replacing the 6Gb HD in my wife's iMac with a 40Gb. Using an IDE to USB cable, I setup and partitioned the 40 into 2 partitions an 8Gb for the startup files, and a 32Gb for all her junk. I ran SuperDuper and I guess that I screwed it up. After running SD, I disassebled the iMac and swapped drives. With the new drive, I just get a grey screen. Nothing else. I have the original drive in there now and I guess the I will erase the 8Gb partition and rerun SD.

All I want to do is clone the drive. I can do this on a PC with "Ghost" blindfolded but will readily admit my Mac ignorance. Can someone please spell out the correct steps for me like I am a 5 year old (or a Win user)

TYIA

dnanian 11-16-2005 11:29 PM

Do you get the "Apple" on the grey screen, mpw995?

If so, go into "verbose boot" and see what error message you get... any particular errors, "authorization problems", or anything like that?

Can you hold down Cmd-Option-s and go into single user mode effectively?

mpw995 11-16-2005 11:41 PM

No, it is just a blank grey screen. No Apple logo or anything else. I cannot do anything with the keyboard. It is just a big blue boat anchor :(

dnanian 11-16-2005 11:51 PM

And you don't have any OSX media you can do an archive-and-install with?


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.