Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Mavericks (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6819)

dnanian 10-22-2013 05:24 PM

Mavericks
 
Here's a blog post about Mavericks compatibility:

http://www.shirt-pocket.com/blog/ind...nts/mavericks/

Bruno_08 10-23-2013 05:59 AM

Thank's for the infos !

Pendragon 10-23-2013 07:57 PM

Thanks, Dave. Very informative and quite useful.

Now that I know what to look (out) for, I'll try to be less of a bother.

But do you think it would help to get ahead of the issue by deleting the scheduled backups just prior to installing v2.7.2?

dnanian 10-23-2013 08:08 PM

No, you need to do it after.

sdak 10-24-2013 02:10 AM

Bravo, Dave!

SuperDuper! ROCKS!

I am looking forward to this Update showing up in Auto Update Notification when I Launch SD!

Q:

If I see that SD Update, and I am still on Mac OS 10.8.5, not ready to Upgrade to Mavericks, 10.9, would it be better to wait till after I Install Mavericks, and then Install this SD Upgrade, or does it not matter?

dnanian 10-24-2013 07:41 AM

The update is compatible with 10.6 and later. So, it doesn't matter if you update before or after Mavericks.

macWish 10-28-2013 12:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dnanian (Post 32512)
Here's a blog post about Mavericks compatibility:

http://www.shirt-pocket.com/blog/ind...nts/mavericks/

I can't get SuperDuper! to do scheduled backups with Mavericks installed even after deleting all scheduled backups, quitting SuperDuper!, then launching SD again and re-scheduling backups. Any other suggestions for avoiding problem with Mavericks and CopyJob?

I hope 2.7.2 is available soon.

dnanian 10-28-2013 01:39 PM

What, exactly, happens?

macWish 10-28-2013 02:25 PM

The copy job failed dialog box comes up at the time schedule for backup and SD fails to launch.

dnanian 10-28-2013 02:34 PM

Did you deny it the ability to run when prompted (or when it asked for security OKs)?

macWish 10-28-2013 03:15 PM

My mistake. My previously scheduled backups were all scheduled to take place at 10 PM - and the next morning, the Copy Job dialog was no longer present. I just scheduled a backup for 2:10 PM and the Copy Job dialog appeared on schedule and when I clicked ok, SuperDuper! launched and performed the scheduled backup. I guess the Copy Job dialog quits on its own if OK is not clicked in a reasonable time period which is why SD did not perform the backups. I will reschedule back up for the day time.

dnanian 10-28-2013 03:17 PM

OK. Let me know what happens.

macWish 10-29-2013 09:10 AM

I deleted my scheduled backups, quit SD, relaunched SD, re-entered scheduled backups, and now the backups are occurring and the Copy Job dialog box no longer appears. Most mysterious.

Could all of the problems with SD and Mavericks and Copy Job be related to the change in accessibility preferences in Mavericks? That is, the need to give control of the computer via Accessibility on Privacy Panel of Security and Privacy Preferences in System Preferences?

dnanian 10-29-2013 09:22 AM

It shouldn't. Copy Job - as I explain in the blog post - asks whether SuperDuper! (and Growl) are running by using a pretty standard Applescript call - "exists process 'SuperDuper!'".

Doing that now flags the process as trying to "control the computer with the Accessibility API" which, of course, is entirely wrong. We're simply trying to determine if those applications are running (eg no sense sending a Growl notification if Growl's not running).

If you don't "OK" Copy Job in the Accessibility part of the security and privacy preference pane (it appears as "applet" in the list, due to a Mavericks bug, even though it appears as "Copy Job" in the panel), you'll get errors.

macWish 10-29-2013 09:48 AM

Not knowing what it was, I did not have "applet" checked on the Accessibility portion of Privacy Panel, which may be why I was getting inconsistent results with scheduled backups. I will let you know what happens now that I have it checked.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:50 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.