Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Copy recovery partition? (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6722)

d2hamilton 10-22-2012 01:52 PM

Copy recovery partition?
 
When you clone a drive, does this also copy the recovery partition from Mtn Lion? I have two Macs and want to duplicate one on to the other. I'll put the second in target disk mode to do so, but not sure if Superduper will copy over the hidden partition as well.

Thanks!
David

dnanian 10-22-2012 02:54 PM

No, we only copy the volume/partition you select. But the existing recovery partition will be preserved - use Smart Update, of course.

Reboot 07-15-2014 08:52 PM

Maybe I haven't searched here far enough and you have added this feature, but CCC does resize your backup drive and make a recovery partition.

If the whole HD dies, I lose the ability to have a recovery partition unless I boot from a USB stick, reinstall the OS from the App Store, then use Migration Assistant to bring over apps and users.

I repair Macs for a living, I have been a supporter of SuperDuper for ages, and have talked many people into buying, but lack of support for the recovery partition needs to be addressed IMO. I have switched my Lion and and above clients to CCC due to this.

dnanian 07-15-2014 11:46 PM

Actually, you can easily reinstall the OS from the App store without any migration or anything difficult... It's pretty trivial!

harryb2448 08-12-2014 12:15 AM

With respect Dave it is not trivial in rural Australia with S - L - O - W download speeds and limited GB allowances.

dnanian 08-12-2014 12:29 AM

Fortunately, Harry, you can save the download that you have to do when you install the OS in the first place...

seanmoyn 03-26-2015 08:02 PM

Just so I understand the Recovery situation with Yosemite
 
Hi Dave
Lost an OWC ssd. The replacement warranty item arrived today. Was told by OWC that they don't like cloning to ssd's. Something about creating buggy installs. No details given.

They also said that SD won't create a Recovery partition. So I read a couple of posts here about how to manage cloning back to a new drive using SD.

So if I understand you correctly I should be able to clone back to the new main drive, then reinstall the OS from the Apple store. That will give me a Recovery disk and we are done. So in future if I clone over the main drive for any reason I will just have to down the OS from Apple on top of the cloned main.
Is this right? Hope so.

Been using SD for ages, I understand it and it has never let me down. Thanks
Sean

dnanian 03-26-2015 11:46 PM

Yep, that's all there is to it.

Michael@wengam 12-07-2017 03:03 PM

I don't remember reinstalling the system to regenerate the Recovery after cloning to my new OWC SSD in my MacBook Pro some months ago, yet I have a Recovery (proved by starting up with Command-R held down). Could that have been put there when I installed/upgraded to High Sierra from the Apple Store?

dnanian 12-07-2017 04:41 PM

We copy the recovery volume to APFS destinations, Michael. See https://www.shirt-pocket.com/blog/in...into_the_past/

Michael@wengam 12-07-2017 10:02 PM

Thanks. Good. I originally made my clone in February 2017. Wouldn't it have been an HFS+ volume then?

dnanian 12-08-2017 11:33 AM

Yes. But if you've updated it with 3.x, it has a recovery volume 'stash' on it. See the blog post.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.