Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   *Not* make copy bootable? (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5838)

backerupper3160 10-11-2009 06:04 PM

*Not* make copy bootable?
 
Is there a way to make the SD copy *not* bootable? (I want to try it this way because the clone was accessing stuff like Dropbox when I would boot up from it, I didn't want it to copy over a file with an older version accidentally; I created a separate partition on the same drive with DiskWarrior for when I need to boot from it for diagnostic/repair reasons.)

I thought this used to be an option years ago, but I didn't see that as a choice on the most current version (for SL). Also it makes it a tiny bit faster starting up when there's only one "alternate" drive to the main one.

dnanian 10-11-2009 06:45 PM

Well, you can certainly partition the drive in a way that makes it not bootable, but otherwise, no. Startup is not faster when you have a drive attached that's not bootable vs. a bootable drive.

backerupper3160 10-11-2009 06:51 PM

I meant that startup is faster because you don't have to choose between as many (startup) options, either on the splash screen or if choosing in the System Preferences.

dnanian 10-11-2009 07:10 PM

Well, no: if you're starting up normally, you're given no choices - it just automatically uses the drive you've selected.

backerupper3160 10-11-2009 07:18 PM

Yeah I know that I just meant it goes a tiny bit faster when there are fewer choices in the system preferences before you reboot if that's how you're doing it.

dnanian 10-11-2009 07:20 PM

I guess I don't quite understand why you'd go into System Preferences to reboot unless you were trying to start up from some drive other than the current startup volume.

backerupper3160 10-11-2009 07:25 PM

I do it that way because I can't currently change the startup sequence because I'm using a third-party (MS) keyboard. (At least that's the generic explanation I've gotten, with no workaround currently possible.)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.