Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   How can I see, if the backup is still in progress or if it failed? (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5769)

Schniggle 09-22-2009 04:30 AM

How can I see, if the backup is still in progress or if it failed?
 
Hi all,

I've been using SD for quite a while. Nice programm.

Now scenario is this: I try to copy a 1TB drive to another 1TB drive. The first is connected via FireWire800 to my MBP. The second is connected to the first drive. I had this running over night (of course it takes a while).

BUT: Now this morning I find it after 10hours of work stating this:
6,08GB evalued, 0,00 MB already up to date, 6,08 GB copied.

Hard drives don't sound like it is written on them. Still SD does not show the red line that the clone failed.

What's up with this?!? Do I just retry the clone? Costs me another day. I guess I'll try that, but that was some strange behaviour.

Or is this still running and will pop to 860GB evaluated ect???

dnanian 09-22-2009 08:27 AM

That seems to be running much too slowly, unless you have a very, very, very large file on the drive. It's possible that daisy chaining FW800 isn't working well (FW800 is much pickier than FW400) - assuming that the drives don't seem like they're active, and activity monitor isn't showing a lot of disk I/O, I'd stop it and try not daisy chaining the drives...

Schniggle 09-22-2009 08:43 AM

No extremely large file on that drive. I gave it another try and it seems to work right now. And it's pretty fast. Read/write is 34MB/s. 26GB in 13 minutes :)

Besides that: I really like FW800, but it seems so unreliable. When I have one of the FW800 drives connected to the MBP on startup, the startup hangs, when I then remove the cable startup continues. Same with shutting down the computer. Is this really so hard to be programmed properly?!?

And what's the use of daisy chaining FW-devices if that makes them un-useable?

OK, we'll have to wait for this to finish...

dnanian 09-22-2009 09:00 AM

What specific drives are these?

Schniggle 09-22-2009 09:53 AM

Hi dnanian, first of all thanks for your quick replies.

The second try failed again. I'm trying to clone from a WD MyBook Studio Edition 1TB (the silver ones; guess theres a WD10EADS inside) to another Western Digital WD10EADS 1TB in a Pleiades enclosure.

Since it didn't work I now connected the drives seperately: One via FW800 and the other via FW400. Speeds are now at about 22MB/s.

dnanian 09-22-2009 09:56 AM

OK, thanks. Yet another external WD issue, I'd guess... I don't know what they've done to their bridges that causes such problems...


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.