Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Creating Bootable Image on USB Drive with SuperDuper! (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5754)

coloradotechie 09-17-2009 02:15 PM

Creating Bootable Image on USB Drive with SuperDuper!
 
So, this SuperDuper! program sounds awesome! However, I can't seem to find an answer to the following:

Can I create a bootable image of my 500 GB Intel iMac (10.4.11) on a 500 GB external USB drive?

I see two parts of this question:
  1. Can I create a bootable image of my iMac on a USB drive using SuperDuper!?
  2. Can I use a USB drive that is the same size as my hard drive to create the bootable image? (Note, I have 100 GB of free space on my mac HD right now).

I've tried to find the answer to these questions, but I can't seem to find what I'm looking for.

Any ideas?

dnanian 09-17-2009 03:29 PM

Assuming the drive is properly initialized (see this FAQ), yes. Intel Macs work fine with USB startup devices. And, yes, regarding size, you can use any drive that'll fit your data and have ~20% free space or so for OS X's own purposes when you're done.

coloradotechie 09-17-2009 04:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dnanian (Post 26943)
Assuming the drive is properly initialized (see this FAQ), yes. Intel Macs work fine with USB startup devices. And, yes, regarding size, you can use any drive that'll fit your data and have ~20% free space or so for OS X's own purposes when you're done.

This is WONDERFUL news! Now, I just have one more question: I'm thinking about purchasing a 1 TB external drive and I want to do the following:

Create a 500 GB bootable GUID partition on my new 1 TB drive for a SuperDuper! bootable image (~500 GB) and then use the rest of the space for extra storage (regular partition). From the other thread it seems that I can partition my 1 TB drive into two parts: a bootable GUID partition for my SuperDuper! image and then just another partition for my regular extra storage.

Am I correct in my thinking that this can be easily done?

Thanks!

dnanian 09-17-2009 04:02 PM

Yes. But remember that your other partition isn't backed up unless you copy it, too.

coloradotechie 09-17-2009 04:14 PM

:)

Thank you for your help!


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:43 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.