Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Time Machine preferences on sandbox (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5295)

dianeoforegon 06-02-2009 07:58 PM

Time Machine preferences on sandbox
 
When I'm in my main HD, Time Machine works as expected, but when I boot into my Sandbox partition, Time Machine completely ignores my options and starts backing up like it was the first time.

Since I switch back and forth between volumes, what is the best way to handle this?

The options to exclude certain folders and volumes looks the same, but Time Machine is certainly not honoring my settings.

I'm using sandbox-shared users and applications.

dnanian 06-02-2009 08:00 PM

Does it make a full copy, Diane? That seems weird, since it should just update (although it might rescan).

Time Machine is a bit of a black box -- but booting from a Sandbox shouldn't be significant different than booting from any other drive, at least as far as TM is concerned.

dianeoforegon 06-02-2009 08:02 PM

It wants to copy EVERYTHING. Time Machine completely ignores my settings under the Option tab in Time Machine.

It doesn't take long before this completely fills up my Time Machine drive with stuff I don't want.

dnanian 06-02-2009 08:05 PM

Have you tried to set up your settings in Options again when started from the Sandbox?

dianeoforegon 06-02-2009 08:09 PM

I'll try deleting everything and see if that works. I'm basically only wanting Time Machine to backup my User's folder. I had erased my Time Machine volume yesterday when I was in my HD updating it and it copied over aprox 12 GB of data. When I booted in the sandbox, TM wanted to copy over 120GB.

BTW, checking out some older threads, I'm seeing a similar report in "Time Machine Behavior"

dnanian 06-02-2009 08:10 PM

OK. This is the kind of thing that's hard for us to do anything about: it's basically TM behavior, and the real question is "why is it doing that"... but its behavior isn't really documented...

dianeoforegon 06-02-2009 08:19 PM

I reset, but it completely ignores any of the previous Time Machine backups. I guess I'll have to make sure Time Machine is Off when I'm in my main hard drive. I mostly work out of the sandbox, but would like to know why I'm having so much trouble getting this to work using shared users. Time Machine has been a PITB compared to SuperDuper.

dianeoforegon 06-02-2009 08:39 PM

I wiped my Time Machine and am now backing up using sandbox. Will report back when I know more.

jbbjbb 08-23-2009 09:19 PM

Any progress?
 
Hi Diane,

Ran across your old thread while I'm setting up sandboxes, and I'm just wondering if you settled on a good process for protecting your system (always in sandbox?) and if you ever tried getting a single TM to run across your sandbox and main partitions.

Jeff.

dianeoforegon 08-23-2009 11:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jbbjbb (Post 26198)
Hi Diane,

Ran across your old thread while I'm setting up sandboxes, and I'm just wondering if you settled on a good process for protecting your system (always in sandbox?) and if you ever tried getting a single TM to run across your sandbox and main partitions.

Jeff.

After setting Time Machine from the main drive, the setting seemed to be honored when I switched back and forth between the main and sandbox drive. Previously I had set Time Machine up when booted from my sandbox.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:45 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.