Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Best Method to Erase & Re-Copy (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5137)

Enigmacode 03-27-2009 12:37 PM

Best Method to Erase & Re-Copy
 
Hi Gang

I've got a few 1TB 'Partitioned Drives' where I'd like to Erase and Re-Copy Data to only a specified/particular partition. The drives are Partitioned into 2 & 3 Partitions.

Rather than use Disk Utility, (which may by default erase/delete the entire drive), which Option of 'Super Duper' would you recommend to get the job done, so I can retain some parts of the drive, while deleting/erasing another?

Thanx
Mike

dnanian 03-27-2009 01:06 PM

So... you're trying to do a "one time" integration of a few partitions into one?

Enigmacode 03-28-2009 02:55 PM

Hello again Dave - glad to see you're not sick of me by now :eek:

Integrations? I don't think so? These hard drives have been partitioned into several sections.

In an effort to make sure some files haven't been corrupted, I'm going to erase and re-copy data back onto these partitions.

Because there is quite a bit of data, I thought rather than use disk utility to completely erase the entire drive, why not use Super Duper to take each partition one at a time and, and erase/re-copy one partition at a time.

I need to retain the partitions as they were orginally created.

Thanx
Mike

http://www.ww2survivorstories.com/

dnanian 03-28-2009 05:17 PM

That's really not a great idea. I wouldn't do this: are you doing so because of what you recently read in Pogue's column?

Enigmacode 03-28-2009 07:13 PM

Hi Dave

"are you doing so because of what you recently read in Pogue's column?"

No, I just wanna make sure those files didn't corrupted when I encountered a few problems with an overheated 800 FW PCI card which is fixed now. This 800 FW multiport card is how I feed data to the external drives. And please I don't want to get into a discussion of a SATA controller card at this time.

Initially I couldn't do a 'Disk Repair Permissions' on one of these external drives, but later was able to. And remember these are external TB drives that I keep for back-up only, they are not system drives. I just wanna make sure they contain error-free data.

So then, you're suggesting just go ahead and reformat/erase them, start from scratch? If so, I'll do that ...

dnanian 03-28-2009 07:17 PM

OK. If you're just trying to basically start from scratch from the original drives to the backup, sure. Go ahead and re-copy if you want.

Enigmacode 03-28-2009 07:26 PM

"Go ahead and re-copy if you want"

You mean using 'Disk Utility', or selectively re-copying/overwriting/erasing one partition at a time with Super Duper?

dnanian 03-28-2009 07:30 PM

Use erase then copy in SD.

Enigmacode 03-28-2009 07:41 PM

Use 'Disk Utility' to Erase the entire drive, then use 'Smart Update' to re-copy?

Yes?

dnanian 03-28-2009 08:53 PM

No, just erase-then-copy in SD.

Enigmacode 03-28-2009 09:05 PM

You mean use Super Duper to just erase and recopy a particular partition, (within a drive)? Which was my original question

dnanian 03-29-2009 12:45 AM

It sounded like, before, you were going to erase and restore. Miscommunication/misunderstanding. :)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:36 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.