Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Cannot find target volume -- Even with volume mounted! (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=420)

cmod 06-02-2005 11:53 PM

Cannot find target volume -- Even with volume mounted!
 
Just started using SuperDuper yesterday.

Find it works great but for some reason it always gives me the same error on startup: "Cannot find target volume '*Vol Name*'"

Even though the volume is mounted and appears on my desktop. If I click cancel I can then go and select the very same volume name from the drop down list.

My volume name does have a space in it which makes me wonder if that's the problem?

Any ideas why this would be happening? It's especially inconvenient since I'd like to schedule backups ...

Thanks,
C

dnanian 06-03-2005 12:04 AM

Well, C, we don't save the volume by "name", but rather by low-level UUID.

So, try selecting some other drive, quitting, and then selecting the destination again. Then quit and restart: does that restore the drive properly?

To ensure you don't get this prompt in the future, don't erase the drive outside SuperDuper! Unfortunately, Disk Utility doesn't retain the UUID, so if you erase a drive with it, it won't "match" any more.

(We do this so, if you rename volumes, we don't copy -- automatically -- to the wrong volume... could be potentially disastrous...)

cmod 06-03-2005 06:10 AM

Hi Dave,

Thanks for that quick response. I tried what you said and it seems to be working.

C

Quote:

Originally Posted by dnanian
Well, C, we don't save the volume by "name", but rather by low-level UUID.

So, try selecting some other drive, quitting, and then selecting the destination again. Then quit and restart: does that restore the drive properly?

To ensure you don't get this prompt in the future, don't erase the drive outside SuperDuper! Unfortunately, Disk Utility doesn't retain the UUID, so if you erase a drive with it, it won't "match" any more.

(We do this so, if you rename volumes, we don't copy -- automatically -- to the wrong volume... could be potentially disastrous...)


dnanian 06-03-2005 10:21 AM

Great! Thanks for the follow-up.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.