Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Itunes library cannot be read.... (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3292)

kswaty 12-11-2007 11:48 AM

Itunes library cannot be read....
 
Since updating my sandbox (on a Power PC and an intel imac) to 10.4.11, I keep getting this message when I try to open itunes. Unfortunately, I copied back over the update on the Powermac (because I had other issues). When I went back to my 10.4.9 version, I get the same thing.

On the intel imac, I can use itunes in the sandbox, but not when I boot back to 10.4.8 - there I get the same message.

I suspect this is a superduper issue, (although it has not happened before) because I updated the Sandbox on both machines the same day, and they are both having the same problem starting at the same time.

dnanian 12-11-2007 11:55 AM

No, the Sandbox shares the files with the source, so the source has the problem. Sounds like your iTunes library might be corrupt and/or damaged.

kswaty 12-11-2007 12:06 PM

Thank you for your quick reply Dave. What you said makes sense, of cours. I am also addressing this issue in the Apple discussion forums, but I think it's strange that this is happening at the same exact time, both machines having the same problem the first time I try to use itunes on the main Hd, after updating Sandbox.

dnanian 12-11-2007 12:10 PM

But a Sandbox doesn't touch these files, and even a full backup simply reads them...

kswaty 12-11-2007 12:23 PM

Could I add albums to my library in Sandbox, so I can use itunes...and, if I do that, what will happen when I decide to copy Sandbox back to my main HD?

Will it be a problem to copy the album list in this way?

dnanian 12-11-2007 12:28 PM

Again, a Sandbox -- if it's a Sandbox (made with the Sandbox scripts) uses the same copy of iTunes as your regular volume. So, whatever you're doing in Sandbox uses the same files.

kswaty 12-11-2007 12:35 PM

My Sandbox was made with Sandbox scripts - I do everything very meticulously, following the manual exactly. I know that the itunes app is not in Sandbox, but so far I can get itunes to open in Sandbox, but it won't even open on main HD. So I just want to use it until I can solve the other problem.

Thanks again for your great support...

dnanian 12-11-2007 01:03 PM

As long as you can open your data, that's fine -- the data's the same on both, because your user files are shared.

kswaty 12-11-2007 01:13 PM

I am just reading that Apple applications are copied in full to sandbox - so I guess that is why itunes will open in sandbox and not on orig HD. So I am going to go ahead and add albums to it - will my albums get copied when I copy sandbox back to HD or will I have to add them again...thank you so much

dnanian 12-11-2007 01:24 PM

Your application is not your data -- it's just the application. Deleting the iTunes application doesn't change your data. Similarly, using a different iTunes doesn't change the fact that it's data is stored in your Home folder...

kswaty 12-11-2007 01:27 PM

I'm sorry - I forgot to say that this is the first data that I will be adding on this machine - so if I add it in sandbox - I guess that makes it accessible from HD, if I ever get that fixed - correct?

dnanian 12-11-2007 01:48 PM

Yes. The data is stored in your Home folder. That means it's on your main drive. It's not really on the Sandbox, since the Home folder is shared.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.