Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Disk image won't mount for scheduled backups (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2515)

stephenb 06-20-2007 04:11 AM

Disk image won't mount for scheduled backups
 
Has anybody seen this? The sparseimg was created by SD, but it can't seem to mount it. Do I need to script it to mount first?

Also, If I'm backing up to 2 different images on 2 different drives do I need to make sure the GUID of the images are the same, or just of the physical drive?

And, is there any way to have SD email the log to me after each running? I have a couple clients in different locations and it would be great if I got an email showing me problems, instead of having to log in every day? Also, are the logs erased each time, or is there a place I can view the logs from the last week or month?

Thanks.

dnanian 06-20-2007 08:42 AM

What error do you get when the image won't mount?

Don't mess with the GUID for images: it's not checked -- it's only used for direct volume copies.

There are posts on the forum elsewhere where users have contributed log-emailing solutions. Also, you can see the last 10 logs -- Cmd-click the title bar of an existing log window and choose the "Logs" folder.

stephenb 06-21-2007 03:07 AM

From the log: (dang, can't copy and paste across VNC)

ACTION: Mounting gouper_bkup
COMMAND => Preparing grouper_bkup
hdiutil: create failed - No such file or directory
****FAILED*****: result=256 errno=0 (Unknown error:0)

If I mount the img first, it works fine.

I'll search for the emailed logs.

dnanian 06-21-2007 09:14 AM

It looks like the image isn't in the location it was in originally.

stephenb 06-21-2007 07:38 PM

Okay, let me explain my set up. I am backing up to an img which resides on an external drive. I would like to swap out that external drive each week.

Can I do this? I haven't changed the GUID on the second drive, but am guessing that this is the problem.

Am I correct, or is this impossible?

Thanks.

dnanian 06-21-2007 07:40 PM

No, it doesn't check the GUID. Is it named the same?

stephenb 06-21-2007 09:10 PM

yep. I actually used the same setup to create the image. ie:

Set up SD to Smart Backup to img.
click copy to create img. and do first backup.

When completed, set up schedule.

Connect second drive and repeat the first step, but don't schedule.


Like I said, it works fine if I mount the img first, but it doesn't do it itself.

Thanks.

dnanian 06-21-2007 09:38 PM

I really don't know why that wouldn't work. We mount an image based on its path, not on a UUID.

stephenb 06-21-2007 10:02 PM

Ahh, I bet it's because the external drive is named different.

dnanian 06-22-2007 07:28 AM

Yes, that'd do it, since the path to the image would also be different.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.