Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Handling of deleted files (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2270)

Just Some Dood 04-07-2007 02:17 AM

Handling of deleted files
 
I currently use Chrono Sync and I'm considering switching to SD.

Currently, when a backup runs on my machine, if there are files that have
been deleted since the last backup, those files are moved to an Archive
folder on the target volume and they auto purge at an interval I specify.

This has saved by butt quite a few times.

How does SD handle deleted files on the target disk when performing a
backup?

Thanks!

dnanian 04-07-2007 09:26 AM

It depends entirely on the "during copy" method you choose. Smart Update or Erase, then copy will delete them. Copy newer and Copy different will leave them on the drive, where they were. Of course, this makes things more difficult to restore, and doesn't guarantee a bootable backup.

My suggestion, in general, is to rotate "Smart Update" backups to cover this case. See the Introduction to the User's Guide for more.

Just Some Dood 04-07-2007 08:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dnanian (Post 11607)
My suggestion, in general, is to rotate "Smart Update" backups to cover this case. See the Introduction to the User's Guide for more.

Might I suggest in the future that you add this type of functionality to Smart
Update and other modes that would benefit?

For example, deleted files could be moved to an Archived folder in the user's
home directory with a time limit (user definable?) before full deletion.

In the event of a full restore, that Archived folder would be there without
disturbing the process.

dnanian 04-07-2007 08:47 PM

Thanks for the suggestion!

patgilmour 03-28-2008 04:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Just Some Dood (Post 11630)
Might I suggest in the future that you add this type of functionality to Smart
Update and other modes that would benefit?

For example, deleted files could be moved to an Archived folder in the user's
home directory with a time limit (user definable?) before full deletion.

In the event of a full restore, that Archived folder would be there without
disturbing the process.

I'd like to second this. It's a feature already in CCC that I would really like to see in SuperDuper!


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:20 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.