Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Restoring from sparse image (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2068)

catxtwo 02-04-2007 12:12 PM

Restoring from sparse image
 
I've gone through the user's guide and I think I understand how this should work but I am running into a problem.

I have a sparse image located on an external firewire drive. I would like to restore my system using that image.

I've booted off the Tiger install DVD and launched Disk Utility. I've opened the sparse image and can see that it is mounted.

Next I select the empty partition on my internal drive and select Restore.

Here is the problem: I cannot figure out how to specify my mounted image as the "source" for the restore. I click on the "Image" button and I can see the mounted image, but the "open" button remains grayed out no matter what I select. :(

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks,
Cat

dnanian 02-04-2007 12:16 PM

Once you've mounted the image, you drag its volume from the sidebar into the source field.

catxtwo 02-04-2007 12:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dnanian (Post 10635)
Once you've mounted the image, you drag its volume from the sidebar into the source field.

I am sure you are going to think that this is user error, but I cannot drag anything from the sidebar. And yes, I DO know how to drag... :)

Nothing in the sidebar seems to be draggable - when trying to drag I end up selecting multiple items in the sidebar... :(

catxtwo 02-04-2007 12:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dnanian (Post 10635)
Once you've mounted the image, you drag its volume from the sidebar into the source field.

Just as a test I plugged in a USB mouse (I'm working on an Intel MBP) and the result is the same - the image cannot be dragged... (I was hoping that my issue was due to a glitch in the trackpad...). :(

dnanian 02-04-2007 12:26 PM

Ah, bummer, you have an early Intel Mac DVD. See this post on my blog, and you'll find a workaround in the comments.

catxtwo 02-04-2007 02:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dnanian (Post 10638)
Ah, bummer, you have an early Intel Mac DVD. See this post on my blog, and you'll find a workaround in the comments.

Thanks - that worked. I am surprised that this wasn't fixed in the Leopard seed DVD. :(

dnanian 02-04-2007 02:27 PM

Hm. That is rather surprising... it is fixed in later revisions of the Tiger Intel DVD.

wwc 11-11-2008 04:25 PM

Mention this in user's guide?
 
May I suggest including this information (about the bug in early Tiger DVDs) in the User's Guide? Or perhaps another more prominent place?


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:33 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.