Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Starting over (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1458)

badlydrawnboy 07-15-2006 05:37 PM

Starting over
 
Hello,

I have a sandbox running on my 74GB Raptor boot drive, and the normal volume is on an internal 400GB drive. My system has gradually been falling apart, and it's time to do a complete reinstall. Too many small, seemingly unrelated glitches to track down.

So I just want to make sure I set it up correctly again. Would I wipe out both drives, then reinstall OS X on the 400GB drive, update, etc. and then create a sandbox from that fresh install on the 74GB boot drive?

Also, has anyone else out there had trouble with the sandbox configuration? I've had some really bizarre issues, particularly with the Energy Saver control panel, that don't respond to normal troubleshooting steps. I've been using Macs for 20 years, so I'm not exactly a novice. But I wondered if the problems could be related to the way I've set up my drives (i.e. using a sandbox). Are there any known issues to be aware of?

Thanks for your help,
Chris

dnanian 07-15-2006 06:52 PM

Hi, Chris.

I wouldn't destroy your base system. Instead, why not simply archive-and-install?

I've been using a Sandbox for many years, as you might expect, without any bizarre issues... Energy Saver is just controlled by a simple plist, so I don't know why it would be impacted.

badlydrawnboy 07-15-2006 10:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dnanian
Hi, Chris.

I wouldn't destroy your base system. Instead, why not simply archive-and-install?

I've been using a Sandbox for many years, as you might expect, without any bizarre issues... Energy Saver is just controlled by a simple plist, so I don't know why it would be impacted.

Dave,

I guess I could try archiving & installing first. If I do that, would I then "Smart Update" the sandbox from the base system after I've archived & installed?

Thanks,
Chris

dnanian 07-15-2006 10:59 PM

Yep, updating a sandbox is just like creating it: just use Smart Update and the appropriate Sandbox script.

badlydrawnboy 07-15-2006 11:03 PM

thanks again dave. quick question: what do you mean by the appropriate sandbox script? i'm assuming i'd use "backup all files" and then "smart update during copy".

dnanian 07-15-2006 11:10 PM

Well, if the intention is to make a Sandbox, you'd use "Sandbox - shared users and applications", most likely. If the intention is to copy all files, that's not a Sandbox...

badlydrawnboy 07-15-2006 11:16 PM

duh... right, my brain lapsed. thanks for your quick replies. much appreciated. chris


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:55 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.