Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Compression backup - 10Mbps wireless network (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1426)

dbmethods 07-04-2006 10:05 PM

Compression backup - 10Mbps wireless network
 
1. Due to wireless network at home, does SuperDuper! have any compression level which might reduce the nework usage by data compression?
I understand compression might require some CPU cycles to support it.

2. And can SuperDuper! backup data to another OS X node?

3. If the node is in sleep mode, can we schedule the backup job to wake up system and perform backup?

4. How many lic copies do I need for 2 Mac machines for home use?

Thanks

dnanian 07-04-2006 11:59 PM

Hi, 'dbmethods'.

No, we don't actually perform any over-the-wire compression, sorry.


We can back up to another OSX computer (see the chapter "Backing up over a network" for the technique).

If the "far side" is sleeping, you'd want to set it to wake a few minutes before the other computer backs up. But this might be tough to accomplish, because it might sleep again...

If you have two macs, you'd usually need two licenses (unless they're both your personal machines, used by you).

Hope that helps!

dbmethods 07-05-2006 12:51 AM

So for both my home machines, can I install it twice 1 for iMac and 1 ofr PowerMac G4 Dual?

Thanks

Quote:

Originally Posted by dnanian
Hi, 'dbmethods'.

No, we don't actually perform any over-the-wire compression, sorry.


We can back up to another OSX computer (see the chapter "Backing up over a network" for the technique).

If the "far side" is sleeping, you'd want to set it to wake a few minutes before the other computer backs up. But this might be tough to accomplish, because it might sleep again...

If you have two macs, you'd usually need two licenses (unless they're both your personal machines, used by you).

Hope that helps!


dnanian 07-05-2006 12:56 AM

If they're both your computers, used by you, yes. We don't require you to purchase two licenses in that situation. (But we certainly appreciate it when users do.)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.