Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   network sparse image question (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3687)

subrama6 02-21-2008 10:40 AM

network sparse image question
 
hello,

i recently upgraded from a powerbook g4 with an 80g hard drive to a macbook pro with a 160 gig hard drive. the sparse image the superduper backs up to is located on the network on an infrant readynas. so yesterday was the first time i tried to backup to that sparse image with the new machine. it crapped out at almost 80 gigs, claiming the maximum size for the sparse image had been reached (i just told it to erase everything from that sparse image and copy everything over). am i correct in assuming that when superduper created the sparse image for my powerbook, it automatically set the maximum size to 80 gigs since that was the size of my hard drive, so i need to start with a brand new sparse image for the 160g macbook pro? i'm operating under that assumption and have kicked off a backup to a new sparse image, but i was just curious.

thanks

dnanian 02-21-2008 10:49 AM

That's right: the maximum size of the image is the size of the source drive when it was created.

subrama6 02-21-2008 11:35 AM

makes sense - thanks :)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:18 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.