Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   SD + Drobo (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4472)

Sigi 08-21-2008 03:18 PM

SD + Drobo

Hello,

I run an Apple Imac with 500 GB on Tiger + an external firewire hard drive with 160 GB for back up - which is now completely full. I just bought a Drobo and I am in the process of downloading SD. As I am not really a computer expert I have some questions. I would like to:

1. use the Drobo for backing up all my data, should not be a problem I guess
2. use the 160 GB drive as a bootable backup

Now my questions:

1. Should I partition my internal harddrive and whats the best way to do that
2. In case I partition should I just have my OS on partition one or OS + apps
3. I understood that SD can help to make a bootable backup - correct?

Thanks for any help and advice.

Sigi

dnanian 08-21-2008 03:56 PM

I don't see how you're going to use the 160GB drive for a backup if it's completely full: you'd be copying your source (500GB) drive to it, right?

And, no -- no need to partition the internal drive.

Sigi 08-21-2008 04:16 PM

Hello Dave,

sorry the the confusion. I will backup all my pictures, music etc.. to the Drobo (2 x 750 GB)
In addition to that I want to make a bootable backup of my 160 GB drive (I checked that it actually can be used to boot OS X). I assume that I only need the OS on this drive hence my questions above

Sigi

dnanian 08-21-2008 04:19 PM

I'm sorry, I'm still confused. What is the 160GB drive? I thought it was a backup. Is this an internal drive?

Is your 500GB completely full, and you're planning on moving that data to the Drobo? Or are you trying to back up the data on the 500GB to the Drobo?

How many partitions do you have on the source -- in other words, how many 'volumes' are you actually trying to back up here?

Sigi 08-21-2008 04:26 PM