Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   command prompt??? (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=810)

mpw995 11-18-2005 09:46 AM

command prompt???
 
I reran SuperDuper to transfer everything from the old drive to the new. I installed the new drive and when I booted it up, it came up with some sort of a command prompt. In the upper left corner it says:
Quote:

Apple iMac Open Firmware 3.0.f2 built on 04/23/99 at 14:31;03
Copyright 1994-1999 Apple Computer, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.
ok
0 >
Nothing else displays. no "?" , no Apple logo etc...
What next?

dnanian 11-18-2005 10:05 AM

Try:

reset-nvram
reset-all

(Return after each.) It should reboot after the "reset-all".

mpw995 11-18-2005 10:34 AM

After I typed "reset-nvram", I got this:
Quote:

DEFAULT CATCH!, code=300 at %SRR0: ff81edd0 %SRR1: 0000b030
ok
0 >
Then I typed "reset-all". When it rebooted, I was back to the command prompt. I am thinking that maybe I should cut my losses and buy a more permanent HDD enclosure and just make the 40Gb an external USB drive???

dnanian 11-18-2005 10:52 AM

Well, it certainly seems like the computer doesn't like the drive at all: perhaps you've mis-installed it? It it set to "cable select"?

mpw995 11-18-2005 03:13 PM

No, It is set as a master. should it be cable select?

dnanian 11-18-2005 03:15 PM

It definitely should for more recent Macs, so I'd give that a try. It might be that the drive isn't compatible with the controller at all... unfortunately, I'm not an expert on early (pre-OS X) Mac hardware.

mpw995 11-18-2005 03:33 PM

I set the drive to CS and get the blinking "?" now.

dnanian 11-18-2005 03:34 PM

OK. It seems to me that there's got to be a hardware-based problem here. Perhaps the OS needs to be in the first 8GB of the drive, and your partitions are reversed?

mpw995 11-18-2005 11:22 PM

Well, I got it now :). When I originally partitioned the drive, I did set partition 1 for 8Gb. I repartitioned it and backed it down to 7.5Gb and it flew right thru. Thanks for all your help.

dnanian 11-18-2005 11:44 PM

Hey, great! Congrats!


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.