Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Failure to prepare backup (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2564)

bmat 07-04-2007 02:49 AM

Failure to prepare backup
 
Got a new LaCie NAS and am having a problem getting a backup going. Once I use SuperDuper to mount to share, this is error I receive when I start the copy. Note that I can manually write files and folders to the target share.


| 11:36:05 PM | Info | SuperDuper!, 2.1.4 (82), path: /Applications/SuperDuper!.app, Mac OS 10.4.10 build 8R2218 (i386)
| 11:36:05 PM | Info | Started on Tue, Jul 3, 2007 at 11:36 PM
| 11:36:05 PM | Info | Source Volume: Macintosh HD, mount: /, device: /dev/disk0s2, media: Hitachi HTS541616J9SA00, interconnect: Internal SATA, file system: "Journaled HFS+", OS: 10.4.10 (8R2218), capacity: 148.61 GB, used: 75.85 GB, directories: 105382, files: 451357, ejectable: NO, ACLs: Disabled
| 11:36:05 PM | Info | Target Image: /Network/EDmini AFP/Backup.sparseimage, name: Backup
| 11:36:05 PM | Info | Copy Mode : Erase, then copy files
| 11:36:05 PM | Info | Copy Script : Backup - all files.dset
| 11:36:05 PM | Info | Transcript : BuildTranscript.plist
| 11:36:05 PM | Info | PHASE: 1. Prepare to Copy Files
| 11:36:05 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Preparing Macintosh HD
| 11:36:05 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Verifying the integrity of volinfo.database
| 11:36:05 PM | Info | volinfo.database OK
| 11:36:05 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Enabling permissions on Macintosh HD
| 11:36:05 PM | Info | Refreshing Disk Arbitration ...
| 11:36:06 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Verifying that permissions are enabled for Macintosh HD
| 11:36:06 PM | Info | Permissions on '/' are enabled.
| 11:36:06 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Mounting Backup
| 11:36:06 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Preparing Backup
| 11:36:06 PM | Info | hdiutil: create failed - Device not configured
| 11:36:06 PM | Error | ****FAILED****: result=256 errno=22 (Unknown error: 0)

dnanian 07-04-2007 08:23 AM

Well, the error indicates that the "EDmini AFP" volume failed when we tried to create the image... "device not configured" basically says "the mount point you're using isn't communicating right".

bmat 07-04-2007 11:25 AM

Well if I can read and write files to the volume otherwise with no issues, it is not clear to me why this particular app is having a problem. I can use SuperDuper to select and mount the volume when I am specifying the disk image name, then use the volume fine outside of SuperDuper if necessary, so what more should I look at to have it access the mounted volume?

Quote:

Originally Posted by dnanian (Post 12804)
Well, the error indicates that the "EDmini AFP" volume failed when we tried to create the image... "device not configured" basically says "the mount point you're using isn't communicating right".


dnanian 07-04-2007 11:36 AM

Try to make sure the volume is mounted and you're writing the image to the mounted volume, not to its "Network" folder proxy...

bmat 07-04-2007 05:08 PM

OK, I was able to get this working by properly navigating to the volume within the selection window after connecting and authenticating to the remote share. It was somewhat of a stupid user error, but I'm still getting used to the OS.

Hopefully, I'll be able to get this to automatically mount the volume for scheduled backups since I hadn't been able to get that to work yet.

Thanks for the tip, Dave.



Quote:

Originally Posted by dnanian (Post 12814)
Try to make sure the volume is mounted and you're writing the image to the mounted volume, not to its "Network" folder proxy...


dnanian 07-04-2007 05:22 PM

You bet -- it should automatically mount as long as the authentication information is in the keychain...

bmat 07-18-2007 03:19 AM

Well, this did properly mount the external drive at first. But then I deleted that particular user on the external drive. How can I get this app to learn how to mount the drive with a new user/password, as it is now failing again during a scheduled or on demand copy if the drive is not already mounted from outside the app?

dnanian 07-18-2007 07:06 AM

You'll need to recreate your schedule, pointed to the proper drive mounted with the proper user.

bmat 07-18-2007 04:44 PM

Sorry, I should have mentioned that I had already deleted the previous schedules. When that didn't work, I deleted the app from the applications folder and reinstalled. That didn't work either, so is there perhaps a list of folders where app data is stored, since after the reinstall it was apparent that the schedules and custom scripts had not been removed. Or perhaps there is a better idea. I also removed all logins to the network drive from the Keychain, so it seems this id/password is cached elsewhere, or the app won't recreate it in the keychain. Thanks.

Quote:

Originally Posted by dnanian (Post 13022)
You'll need to recreate your schedule, pointed to the proper drive mounted with the proper user.


dnanian 07-18-2007 04:48 PM

The only place data is stored that's relevant to this is Library/Application Support/SuperDuper!...

bmat 07-18-2007 05:26 PM

Well, there is nothing there that seems useful. I did notice that, after I switched IDs, that SD would, upon starting, immediately attempt to login to the network drive using the old ID, because it would start with a dialog box prompt showing the old ID and password. After I reinstalled and changed the backup name to a different one on the same drive, it does not display the prompt any longer, so it appears that no attempt is being made to mount the drive.

So one question I have is, when SD starts, is it normal behavior to mount the drive before going to step 1, Prepare to Copy Files, or does it normally mount the drive at the time it is mounting the file during step 1?

In either case, I just need to figure out what to do to get this drive to mount.

Here is the log file:

| 02:13:13 PM | Info | SuperDuper!, 2.1.4 (82), path: /Applications/SuperDuper!.app, Mac OS 10.4.10 build 8R2218 (i386)
| 02:13:13 PM | Info | Started on Wed, Jul 18, 2007 at 2:13 PM
| 02:13:13 PM | Info | Source Volume: Macintosh HD, mount: /, device: /dev/disk0s2, media: Hitachi HTS541616J9SA00, interconnect: Internal SATA, file system: "Journaled HFS+", OS: 10.4.10 (8R2218), capacity: 148.61 GB, used: 86.47 GB, directories: 105111, files: 450077, ejectable: NO, ACLs: Disabled
| 02:13:13 PM | Info | Target Image: /Network/EDmini AFP/A Backup.sparseimage, name: A Backup
| 02:13:13 PM | Info | Copy Mode : Smart Update
| 02:13:13 PM | Info | Copy Script : Backup - All files excl Skype.dset
| 02:13:13 PM | Info | Transcript : BuildTranscript.plist
| 02:13:13 PM | Info | PHASE: 1. Prepare to Copy Files
| 02:13:13 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Preparing Macintosh HD
| 02:13:13 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Verifying the integrity of volinfo.database
| 02:13:13 PM | Info | volinfo.database OK
| 02:13:13 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Enabling permissions on Macintosh HD
| 02:13:14 PM | Info | Refreshing Disk Arbitration ...
| 02:13:14 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Verifying that permissions are enabled for Macintosh HD
| 02:13:14 PM | Info | Permissions on '/' are enabled.
| 02:13:14 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Mounting A Backup
| 02:13:14 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Preparing A Backup
| 02:13:15 PM | Info | hdiutil: create failed - No such file or directory
| 02:13:15 PM | Error | ****FAILED****: result=256 errno=22 (Unknown error: 0)

dnanian 07-18-2007 05:29 PM

Yes, that's normal: it mounts the drive when the settings are loaded. In this case, your image is being written to the wrong place -- it should be saved to the EDMini AFP volume, not its entry in /Network...

bmat 07-18-2007 08:12 PM

OK, I think this is finally working properly now thanks to that observation, as I got it to mount on SD loading. Now I hope to enjoy the software!

dnanian 07-18-2007 08:15 PM

Yay! Great to hear.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.