Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Question About SDuper For Me (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2276)

Dunnie 04-08-2007 01:05 PM

Question About SDuper For Me

I need to backup a work on my internal data raid to an external hard drive. Does Super Duper allow for this ? Or does it just backup the system drive ?

Thanks

Michael

kurtradtke 04-08-2007 04:05 PM

Backup from an External source?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dunnie (Post 11638)
I need to backup a work on my internal data raid to an external hard drive. Does Super Duper allow for this ? Or does it just backup the system drive ?

Thanks

Michael

Michael,

FYI - I am new to SuperDuper! but I have been beating it half-to-death for two weeks; bought the license a week ago. Since you had not gotten any responses as of the time I started this one, here's a shot at it.

What you're after isn't clear to me. :confused: Do you want to know if you can backup from an external RAID HD, or are you asking if you can backup a limited number of files/folders from the external RAID? I'm going to take a WAG that you are asking whether you can backup data from HDs, especialy externally mounted, other than your System/Boot drive. I will also assume that this external drive is directly connected to your Mac, not a network-connected drive.

You can answer this by doing the following:
- mount the external drive you want to backup from (this wil be the Copy volume
- start SuperDuper!
- click open the Copy menu at the upper left of your SuperDuper! window
- locate your external drive in this menu - if you can see it here, you can backup any or all of it with SuperDuper! (You may need scripting to