Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Have Super Duper automatically copy when drive mounts (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2306)

unknownrider 04-21-2007 09:47 PM

Have Super Duper automatically copy when drive mounts
 
Hi all,

I am trying to use the instructions in this link

http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=993

to have Super Duper automatically copy when my firewire drive mounts. I am using "Do Something When" instead of the One touch instructions as referenced in this link

http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/s...ighlight=lacie

The results are - Super Duper opens when the drive mounts but does not copy. I have created a routine in "Do Something When" named Copy Job.app. and inserted the line

ln -s "Smart Update Mac Back Up from MAC HD.sdsp/Copy Job.app" "Copy Job.app backup of Mac HD"

Thanks in advance for your help.

dnanian 04-21-2007 11:25 PM

OK; what happens when the drive mounts? What about when you double-click your little executable link in Finder?

unknownrider 04-22-2007 03:32 PM

When the drive mounts Super Duper opens to the "What's going to happen" window. When I click on the file in Finder the same happens.

dnanian 04-22-2007 03:39 PM

OK: it sounds like you didn't quite follow the instructions properly, and you've linked to the wrong file...

unknownrider 04-22-2007 04:08 PM

That doesn't surprise me. When I schedule the copy, then copy that file into the Saved Settings File it's the only file in the folder. Then I open Terminal type cd (space) and drag the file into Terminal and add the line below. Are you saying that that the line below is linking to the wrong file or I am choosing the wrong file to edit?

ln -s "Smart Update Mac Back Up from MAC HD.sdsp/Copy Job.app" "Copy Job.app backup of Mac HD"

dnanian 04-22-2007 04:16 PM

It could be simply because you've named the destination wrong. Try just calling it "Copy Job.app" to see if that helps.

But, certainly, when you double-click that in Finder, it should open SD! and, after a few seconds, run.

unknownrider 04-22-2007 04:57 PM

Still no luck. When I click on the file in finder, Super Duper opens but doesn't run. When I set up the temporary schedule in Super Duper I am leaving it wiht the default scheduling values since I am deleting this temporary schedule. Could this be where I am messing up?

dnanian 04-22-2007 05:09 PM

I don't think so, no... is SD! unlocked?

unknownrider 04-22-2007 05:11 PM

Yes, it is.

dnanian 04-22-2007 05:13 PM

Try running

open "Smart Update Mac Back Up from MAC HD.sdsp/Copy Job.app"

from the Saved Settings folder in Terminal.

unknownrider 04-22-2007 05:19 PM

I'm not that familiar Terminal, can you tell me how to run the file? Thanks.

dnanian 04-22-2007 05:21 PM

Open Terminal. Type "open", then a space. Then, drag the Copy job.app from inside the package into the Terminal window. It'll type it for you. Press Return at the end.

unknownrider 04-22-2007 05:24 PM

Okay I've done that.

dnanian 04-22-2007 05:26 PM

And what happens?

unknownrider 04-22-2007 05:28 PM

Sorry, Super Duper opens but it doesn't automatically copy.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.