PDA

View Full Version : "Install Package" option


mactastic1
08-07-2004, 04:40 PM
Please explain what I'm supposed to choose when prompted for the location of a package during safety clone. I don't understand packages.

:o

From User Guide: When you select Install package..., SuperDuper prompts you for the location of the package file you want to install. This can be located on a mounted disk image, or any location other than the source.

dnanian
08-07-2004, 04:48 PM
No problem -- that's a bit of an advanced option: sorry if it's unclear.

This can be used to install a package, such as a standalone system update. For example, Mac OS X 10.3.3 comes, sometimes, on a DMG, rather than through Software Update. By mounting the DMG during the Safety Clone process, you can tell SuperDuper! to install the package that's on that DMG (the icon looks like a "package" -- it's a special bundle of files that's used by Apple's Installer program), you can save a teeny bit of time.

For most users, though, this is something you can safely ignore. Instead, you'd create the Safety Clone, boot from it, and then just run Software Update when you're booted from the Sandbox: Software Update will automatically download the "package" and install it.

Hope that helps to explain things a bit.

mactastic1
08-07-2004, 06:01 PM
Thanks for responding so FAST! :eek: What great service!

I'll just ignore the "package" option - it sounds like I don't need it.

You don't have to answer this next question, I'm just curious about something: Where did the term/name "Sandbox" originate (in relation to Mac) and what do I need to know about it, if anything?

Thanks again! :)

dnanian
08-07-2004, 06:04 PM
We try to turn questions around quickly if we can!

I don't think Sandbox comes from the Mac world at all. It's sort of an old term, at least in the computer world... I just resurrected it because it seemed appropriate for the Safety Clone, implying that you can "play in it" without worrying about getting hurt, etc.