PDA

View Full Version : Script could not be saved


Dasman
12-07-2005, 04:46 PM
Hey Forum....I'm trying to create a script to BackUp just the files in the Documents folder to an FireWire drive on a G5. When I try to save the script, I get this message: The document "Untitled 2" could not be saved as "Steves Backup". Is there something I am doing that is causing this script not to save? Seems like the scripts that are already there use more characters in the name etc. so I don't think it's because I'm using illegal naming convention. Any ideas why I can't save? TIA

dnanian
12-07-2005, 05:38 PM
Where are you trying to save to, Dasman? You should be saving under "Copy Scripts", not inside "Standard Scripts", which is read-only...

Dasman
12-08-2005, 09:24 AM
Thanks...you were correct. OS X is very new to me...not obvious yet.
Also, is there a way to delete a Custom Script?
How about a way to rename a Custom Script?

dnanian
12-08-2005, 09:40 AM
You can manage your copy scripts in the Finder -- they're just files. Navigate to Library/Application Support/SuperDuper!/Copy Scripts off your Home folder, and you'll find them there.

Hope that helps!

Dasman
12-08-2005, 11:23 AM
Thanks Dave...that did help. Now, my first script is a simple one, based on the example I picked up from the FAQs. I want to copy just the Documents folder to my external FireWire drive so I created a new script that uses these script commands:
(ignore) *
(ignore) .*
(copy) Volumes/G5 HD/Users/Documents
The script is a scheduled Smart Update that repairs file perms before running and then shuts SuperDuper down after finishing. I called up the script in SuperDuper's window and then ran the copy now to test it. It appears to run and then quits when done, deletes files from the destination drive but does not copy any files to the destination drive.
Any ideas why it does not copy files and does not issue an error because it did not copy files?

dnanian
12-08-2005, 11:26 AM
Yep. Remove the Volumes/G5 HD/ from the start of the copy line. It should just say "Users/Documents", and that'll work. (The volume is automatically added by the drive pop-ups.)

This was one of those things that we improved in 2.0 (we automatically removed the volume name when the command was added), but somehow regressed during testing and wasn't caught. I've got it logged, though, and it should be improved again in a future 2.x release.