PDA

View Full Version : maintaining target volume icon


yoxi
11-23-2005, 03:00 PM
Hello there

Enjoying the ease-of-use of v2, (and free upgrade) thanks.

I've mentioned this before, I think: it'd be good to have an option in the prefs to maintain the volume icon of the target volume. In these days of 'choice is god', many of us out here have our own carefully-chosen icons, themes etc. and as things stand, I have to run a pre-flight shell script to save my icon to a temp file, and then a post-flight script to restore it afterwards.

And I need a separate pre-flight script for each different target volume, unless there's a way to pass the volume name through in the call in prefs?

Any chances of adding the icon save option for saving in the individual backup prefs files?

- yoxi

dnanian
11-23-2005, 03:09 PM
Well, the thing is that the icon is a file that's part of the backup, and if you restore that backup, you'd end up with the wrong icon... but, I have a solution.

Put the icon you want in a folder called "Volume Icons" in your Home. Name each icon with the name of the volume.VolumeIcon.icns -- e.g. Macintosh HD.VolumeIcon.icns.

Then, use this script as the "after copy" script. Note that you need to have the developer tools installed *or* the source of the backup needs to have a custom icon.

Let me know if that works.

priller
12-02-2005, 05:11 PM
Guess the question is ...... What changed? Loosing the target icon only started in v2.0.

I set the custom volume icons with CandyBar. When SuperDuper completes it's daily Smart Update, the target volume custom icon is lost. Prior to v2, this never happened.

dnanian
12-02-2005, 05:13 PM
I can't see how that could be the case: this behavior has always been the case (and we've received complaints about it before the release of 2.0, as you can see by searching the forums).

Are you sure you've been doing the same thing this whole time?

Harry Cover
12-12-2005, 07:30 PM
Put the icon you want in a folder called "Volume Icons" in your Home. Name each icon with the name of the volume.VolumeIcon.icns -- e.g. Macintosh HD.VolumeIcon.icns.

Then, use this script as the "after copy" script. Note that you need to have the developer tools installed *or* the source of the backup needs to have a custom icon.

Let me know if that works.
I have tried this and it does not work.
Maybe I have not understood where to put the "Volume Icons" folder and the "Set icon" script.
I have not the developer tools installed, but the source of my backup does have a custom icon.
Thanks to help me.

dnanian
12-12-2005, 07:38 PM
OK, Harry. Where did you create the folder named "Volume Icons"? It should be in your Home folder. And did you place the icon file in there with the proper name?

Harry Cover
12-13-2005, 03:28 AM
Thanks Dave for quick replying.

I boot from the Sandbox.
This maybe my problem explanation.

When I launch the script, the 2 first steps of the copy process are OK, but the third one called the "After successful copy" step, gets coloured in red, with the error message : "Failed to run shell script set_icon".

Is the icon folder supposed to be on the "Master" HD or on the Sandbox ?
I have tried both locations, without success.

Same question about the script ?
Il have copied it to: "/Applications/Utilities/SuperDuper!.app/Contents/Resources/Copy Scripts/set_icon", on the Sandbox.
Was I right ?

My Backup disk name is... Ahem... "Backup". ;)
The icon Unix path and name are "/Volumes/iMac G5/Users/parents/Volume Icons/Backup.VolumeIcon.icns".

Please forgive my poor english. I hope I made it clear enough.
We french people, here in Paris, love and use SD too.
"Merci beaucoup".

Yours.
HC

dnanian
12-13-2005, 10:34 AM
Ah, OK. It's not a "Copy Script" -- it's a shell script.

Place set_icon in your Home folder instead, and make sure that when you look at it in Finder, its "icon" is a Unix Executable. Then, fix your "after copy" shell script choice in options.

The icon looks just about right, as long as you're logged in as "parents" when you run.

That should fix it, I hope. And thanks for taking the time to get in touch and for your english -- believe me, it's far better than my terrible french.

"De rien" :)

Harry Cover
12-13-2005, 11:28 AM
I did as you said, but it does not work.
The icon is still changed.

As I said before:
When I launch the script, the 2 first steps of the copy process are OK, but the third one called the "After successful copy" step, gets coloured in red, with the error message : "Failed to run shell script set_icon".

Devil is in details.
Thanks anyway.
HC

dnanian
12-13-2005, 11:31 AM
Could you look into the log and see what error you get there?

Harry Cover
12-13-2005, 11:43 AM
The end of the log:

| 04:22:12 PM | Info | Indexing enabled for volume.
| 04:22:12 PM | Info | Indexing enabled on Backup
| 04:22:12 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Running shell script set_icon
| 04:22:12 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Invoking site customization script: /Volumes/iMac G5/Users/parents/set_icon
| 04:22:12 PM | Info | Restoring icon for Backup...
| 04:22:12 PM | Error | cp: /Users/parents/Volume Icons/Backup.VolumeIcon.icns is a directory (not copied).

dnanian
12-13-2005, 11:55 AM
| 04:22:12 PM | Error | cp: /Users/parents/Volume Icons/Backup.VolumeIcon.icns is a directory (not copied).

OK -- so, it sounds like the real problem is that your icon isn't a good icon. Possible?

Try setting the Backup icon once by hand, then run the following in Terminal:

cp "/Volumes/Backup/.VolumeIcon.icns" "/Users/parents/Volume Icons/Backup.VolumeIcon.icns"

Harry Cover
12-13-2005, 03:46 PM
OK -- so, it sounds like the real problem is that your icon isn't a good icon. Possible?

Try setting the Backup icon once by hand, then run the following in Terminal:

cp "/Volumes/Backup/.VolumeIcon.icns" "/Users/parents/Volume Icons/Backup.VolumeIcon.icns"

And then ?
:confused:

dnanian
12-13-2005, 04:41 PM
Try again! :)

Harry Cover
12-14-2005, 02:39 AM
I have tried once more.
Hopeless ! :mad: :mad:
Always the same error message: "Failed to run shell script set_icon" and the iccon is lost.

Confirmation:
I have pasted the following text in the terminal, without removing anything.
Was I right ?

cp "/Volumes/Backup/.VolumeIcon.icns" "/Users/parents/Volume Icons/Backup.VolumeIcon.icns"

Thanks a lot for your patient help.
I appreciate.

Yours.

dnanian
12-14-2005, 10:08 AM
OK. Again, I need to see the message in the log...

Harry Cover
12-14-2005, 04:26 PM
Here it is:

| 07:31:56 AM | Info | ...ACTION: Running shell script set_icon
| 07:31:56 AM | Info | ......COMMAND => Invoking site customization script: /Volumes/iMac G5/Users/parents/set_icon
| 07:31:56 AM | Info | Restoring icon for Backup...
| 07:31:56 AM | Error | cp: /Users/parents/Volume Icons/Backup.VolumeIcon.icns is a directory (not copied).

dnanian
12-14-2005, 04:58 PM
OK. Please remove the file that's there already, and run the copy *from* the destination to this folder again. Something's gone weird with the file that's there, and the system thinks it's a folder (or it really is a folder).

Harry Cover
12-14-2005, 05:37 PM
Oops !!
The system thinks right: it was a folder.
I copied the icon onto it.

So, I replaced the folder with a file, and launched the copy.
The error message and the red colour of the 3rd step has diasappeared.
The icon keepes changing.

Log:

| 10:32:18 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Running shell script set_icon
| 10:32:18 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Invoking site customization script: /Volumes/iMac G5/Users/parents/set_icon
| 10:32:18 PM | Info | Restoring icon for Backup...
| 10:32:18 PM | Info | PHASE: 4. And Finally...
| 10:32:18 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Quitting SuperDuper!
| 10:32:18 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Quitting SuperDuper!
| 10:32:18 PM | Info | Copy complete.

Harry Cover
12-14-2005, 05:39 PM
Does the icon file have to be a special file, or any file is OK ?

dnanian
12-14-2005, 05:41 PM
OK... and you're certain the icon file is correct?

dnanian
12-14-2005, 05:47 PM
It has to be a real icon file. The best thing to do is to "harvest" it from the volume after you set it, as I described in a previous response, above...

Harry Cover
12-15-2005, 01:32 AM
It has to be a real icon file. The best thing to do is to "harvest" it from the volume after you set it, as I described in a previous response, above...

I must be a very bad "harvester".
I have been searching a lot, but could not find the message you mentionned. I still do not know how to "harvest" efficiently.
Could you give me the address of this message, please.

I think that your patient is now almost cured, Dave.
Sorry to bother you with this tiny problem.

Yours.
A french harvester.

dnanian
12-15-2005, 01:34 AM
It's this one: http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showpost.php?p=4662&postcount=12.

Harry Cover
12-15-2005, 05:51 AM
It's this one: http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showpost.php?p=4662&postcount=12.

I thought it was something else, because I have tried this again, unsuccessfuly.

I have found that the HD icon is in the ".VolumeIcon.icns" invisible file at the root of the backup HD.
Couldn't we use it instead ?

In case you need it, the end of the log:

| 10:32:18 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Running shell script set_icon
| 10:32:18 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Invoking site customization script: /Volumes/iMac G5/Users/parents/set_icon
| 10:32:18 PM | Info | Restoring icon for Backup...
| 10:32:18 PM | Info | PHASE: 4. And Finally...
| 10:32:18 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Quitting SuperDuper!
| 10:32:18 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Quitting SuperDuper!
| 10:32:18 PM | Info | Copy complete.

Yours.

Harry Cover
12-15-2005, 09:15 AM
Weird ! :eek:

The folder that you told me to create:
"/Volumes/iMac G5/Users/parents/Volume Icons"

is now empty...

Is SD going to erase my whole HD, little by little ??!! :confused: :p :p

dnanian
12-15-2005, 10:37 AM
That *is* what you're trying to use, Harry. But you need to copy it and rename it to the name I suggested. If the folder is empty, it's because ".VolumeIcon.icns" is invisible (that's what the leading dot is)...

Harry Cover
12-15-2005, 12:23 PM
OK, Dave.

So, I went to see inside the Folder with File Buddy:
"/Volumes/iMac G5/Users/parents/Volume Icons"

The icon file was there and invisible (see its name):
"/Volumes/iMac G5/Users/parents/Volume Icons/Backup.VolumeIcon.icns"

but :
- the name was the same, as the one you previously told me to set
- no dot at the beginning
- the custom icon still was there
- the file was invisible to the Finder, but not set as invisible in File Buddy

Anyway,
- I copied it
- replaced the invisible file, by the copied one, as you said
- launched the SD backup
- I tore again my remaining hairs, watching the icon lost :(
- and sent the log to you.

Please Dave lets find a solution before my nervous breakdown. ;)

Harry Cover
12-15-2005, 12:38 PM
I have restarded the mac, and repaired the permissions.

The backup disk has now lost the icon it previously got, from the master disk.
It has now a generic HD icon. :eek:

dnanian
12-15-2005, 12:41 PM
It sounds like it can't find the icon, or something, Harry. I'm just not sure what to suggest at this point...

Harry Cover
12-15-2005, 12:52 PM
Suicide ?? :(

dnanian
12-15-2005, 02:45 PM
How about installing the developer tools, Harry?

Harry Cover
12-15-2005, 02:47 PM
No problem.
You mean Xcode ?

dnanian
12-15-2005, 02:56 PM
Yes, the developer tools that come with the OS.

Harry Cover
12-15-2005, 03:07 PM
OK, Dave.
And then...

dnanian
12-15-2005, 03:09 PM
Run your backup again.

Harry Cover
12-15-2005, 06:55 PM
Same bad result (icon lost).

Log:


| 08:44:44 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Running shell script set_icon
| 08:44:44 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Invoking site customization script: /Volumes/iMac G5/Users/parents/set_icon
| 08:44:45 PM | Info | Restoring icon for Backup...
| 08:44:45 PM | Info | PHASE: 4. And Finally...
| 08:44:45 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Quitting SuperDuper!
| 08:44:45 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Quitting SuperDuper!
| 08:44:45 PM | Info | Copy complete.

dnanian
12-15-2005, 07:11 PM
OK. Sorry, Harry: I don't know what to tell you at this point... it should work, if you've got it set up right, but I'm at a loss to know what you've done wrong...

Harry Cover
12-15-2005, 07:25 PM
I am sure the problem comes from the location or the name of files/folders:

"iMac G5" is the master HD whiche is copied to Backup HD.
"parents" is a user name.
Please, check the locations, and the names.

Are names correct in the set_icon script ?

Script file:
"/Volumes/iMac G5/Users/parents/set_icon"

Icon file:
"/Volumes/iMac G5/Users/parents/Volume Icons/Backup.VolumeIcon.icns"

dnanian
12-15-2005, 10:13 PM
As long as you're logged in as "parents", that all seems right to me, unless the destination is really named "Backup HD" as opposed to "Backup". If so, the icon file would have to be called "Backup HD.VolumeIcon.icns".

Harry Cover
12-16-2005, 01:30 AM
No problem here, as far as "Backup" HD name is concerned.

Do we resign ? :(

Could AppleScript be another solution ? :rolleyes:

Feature request:
Could this icon conservation be a new feature of SD next release ? :cool:

dnanian
12-16-2005, 01:39 AM
Sorry, Harry. I honestly don't know what else to suggest.

Harry Cover
12-16-2005, 01:41 AM
Thanks a lot anyway, Dave.

Sincerely yours.
HC

dnanian
12-16-2005, 10:41 AM
I'm sorry I wasn't able to figure out what's wrong here, Harry.