PDA

View Full Version : command prompt???


mpw995
11-18-2005, 10:46 AM
I reran SuperDuper to transfer everything from the old drive to the new. I installed the new drive and when I booted it up, it came up with some sort of a command prompt. In the upper left corner it says:

Apple iMac Open Firmware 3.0.f2 built on 04/23/99 at 14:31;03
Copyright 1994-1999 Apple Computer, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.
ok
0 >

Nothing else displays. no "?" , no Apple logo etc...
What next?

dnanian
11-18-2005, 11:05 AM
Try:

reset-nvram
reset-all

(Return after each.) It should reboot after the "reset-all".

mpw995
11-18-2005, 11:34 AM
After I typed "reset-nvram", I got this:

DEFAULT CATCH!, code=300 at %SRR0: ff81edd0 %SRR1: 0000b030
ok
0 >
Then I typed "reset-all". When it rebooted, I was back to the command prompt. I am thinking that maybe I should cut my losses and buy a more permanent HDD enclosure and just make the 40Gb an external USB drive???

dnanian
11-18-2005, 11:52 AM
Well, it certainly seems like the computer doesn't like the drive at all: perhaps you've mis-installed it? It it set to "cable select"?

mpw995
11-18-2005, 04:13 PM
No, It is set as a master. should it be cable select?

dnanian
11-18-2005, 04:15 PM
It definitely should for more recent Macs, so I'd give that a try. It might be that the drive isn't compatible with the controller at all... unfortunately, I'm not an expert on early (pre-OS X) Mac hardware.

mpw995
11-18-2005, 04:33 PM
I set the drive to CS and get the blinking "?" now.

dnanian
11-18-2005, 04:34 PM
OK. It seems to me that there's got to be a hardware-based problem here. Perhaps the OS needs to be in the first 8GB of the drive, and your partitions are reversed?

mpw995
11-19-2005, 12:22 AM
Well, I got it now :). When I originally partitioned the drive, I did set partition 1 for 8Gb. I repartitioned it and backed it down to 7.5Gb and it flew right thru. Thanks for all your help.

dnanian
11-19-2005, 12:44 AM
Hey, great! Congrats!