PDA

View Full Version : Error Doing Smart Update to Sparse Image


fredhoysted
11-04-2005, 07:45 PM
Hi Dave,

Here's my setup:

G4 Tower has an internal drive. I want to back this up to an external firewire drive called 'Back Up Drive 3' attached to my Powerbook. The G4 Tower and Powerbook are connected over the wired ethernet network.

I've mounted the external firewire drive on the G4 Tower.

I've used Disk Utility on the G4 Tower to create a sparse disk image on the networked 'Backup Drive 3'.

Here's my problem:

I've asked SuperDuper! to do a smart update of the G4's internal 'G4 Tower - Drive 2' to the sparse image. However, it gives an error just a few seconds into the operation. The logfile is attached.

Any ideas?

dnanian
11-04-2005, 07:50 PM
Sure, Fred. You've created a sparse image that's far too small -- .06GB:

|11:30:21 PM|Info| Target Drive: /Volumes/Test backup 2, name: Test backup 2, device: /dev/disk3s2 type: hfs, OS: N/A, capacity: 0.06 GB, used: 0.03 GB, directories: 8, files: 103

So, it runs out of space right away, just like it says:

|11:30:22 PM|Info| WARNING: Caught I/O exception(28): No space left on device

Does that help?

fredhoysted
11-04-2005, 07:58 PM
Oops.

Going too fast. Should have noticed it said MB instead of GB. Thanks, it's cloning now.

dnanian
11-04-2005, 08:12 PM
Take your time with data, Fred. It's important!

fredhoysted
11-04-2005, 08:18 PM
You're quite right, Dave.

Hey, speaking of taking your time, any news on version 2?!

(Don't even answer that - I'm being extremely cheeky. Especially given how quickly you answered my question :)

dnanian
11-04-2005, 08:22 PM
Now I get to use a smiley I never use on the forums! :p