PDA

View Full Version : Tiger Installation on Sandbox


wallybuch
10-02-2005, 03:52 AM
I would like to know the best way to install
Tiger on the safety clone. I have done a full bootable backup to a FW drive and partitioned my internal into the Mac HD running 10.3.9 and a sandbox safety clone as suggested in the directions. What is the best and safest way to install Tiger on the Safety Clone? Should I use a clean install, or an archive and install. Should I disconnect my FW drive before doing anything? (yes, I am paranoid about OS upgrades of this magnitude)

dnanian
10-02-2005, 10:48 AM
Wally --

You should do a regular "upgrade", *without* (important) running migration, because your data will already be there. There's no need to disconnect the FireWire drive.

Please make sure you read the FAQ entry about Tiger Compatibility, and special instructions for Mail and iCal, just to be super safe.

This should be pretty painless, though -- good luck.

wallybuch
10-02-2005, 12:22 PM
Thanks for the advice. I have searched for "tiger compatibility" under FAQ but nothing comes up. I looked through the threads and found one for "tiger compatibility" but it isnt really relevant to the new mail, etc. Can you direct me to the proper faq.

thanks for a great program!

dnanian
10-02-2005, 01:19 PM
Here you go (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=312). Make sure to go to the blog post, too.

wallybuch
10-02-2005, 03:26 PM
Found it. Thanks very much. I just finished installing tiger to the sandbox and so far, so good. There is no way I would have risked this without the fuzzy warmth of the sandbox. I presume that after I am totally comfortable that tiger won't foul things up, that I should do a similar tiger uupgrade install on the non-sandbox partition of the internal drive, or is there an easier way?

dnanian
10-02-2005, 05:08 PM
The Sandbox is handy, isn't it? :) It's tough to explain to people, but it's worth its "weight" in gold.

When you're happy with how things are going, you can either upgrade on the main volume or you can also "clone back". Drop me a note to support and I'll send along the steps.