PDA

View Full Version : Adding/combining drives to a clone


rosindabow
06-04-2015, 07:18 PM
Hello, I am a regular user of SuperDuper - I use it to clone my drives. I wanted to do something different this time. I just purchased a larger hard drive and i want to combine 2 hard drives that each have two partitions into one large drive with no partitions.. I cloned the first partition on the first drive. Is there a way to add in and combine the rest of the information into one large drive

dnanian
06-04-2015, 07:36 PM
Yes, you can use "Backup - all files" with Copy Newer or Copy Different to add the other files to the drive. This would only be done once, of course, and it assumes that there are no files in identical directories.

rosindabow
06-05-2015, 04:45 AM
That makes sense. Which backup would you recommend: Copy Newer or Copy Different? Will SuperDuper asks me for more information if it runs into a duplicate?
and one more quick question: does SuperDuper work with the larger drives? I am now switching to 4Tb. Thanks.

dnanian
06-05-2015, 08:46 AM
It won't ask you if there's a duplicate: it will do whatever's defined by your selection "Copy Newer" or "Copy Different". The User's Guide explains both in detail. Basically, in the latter case, the source always "wins", and in the former, the source only wins if it's newer.

And yes, we work fine with whatever size drive you have, as long as it's HFS+.

rosindabow
06-05-2015, 07:26 PM
Hi - I ran into a major problem. I keep getting the following message (in red type): "x Failed to enable ownership on Drive." I copied one partition with no issues, this was the third one and it got part of the way and then this message sprang up. Also - here is what I copied from the Log: "Error | GetMasterBlock: Error 16 from read; amount=-1, wanted=512" Anything I can do?

dnanian
06-05-2015, 07:31 PM
That means that drive is not responding properly. You should power off your Mac and all devices, power back up and try again.