PDA

View Full Version : Clone doesn't show up as bootable disk


rock15478
12-31-2014, 12:14 PM
Hi there,

Long time SD! user for almost a decade now. Haven't had any major issues until recently. Upgraded to Yosemite on my late 2011 MBP. I have a portable 2TB WD My Passport Ultra that I have partitioned as 2 separate 1TB partitions (both Mac OS Extended Journaled) for backups. SD! runs the clone and says everything completed fine (including making it bootable) but I never see this backup drive show up as a bootable drive under "Startup Disks." I also don't see it when I hold down Option when rebooting. Any advice?

Thanks,
John

dnanian
12-31-2014, 12:18 PM
Hi, John. It's incorrectly partitioned. See Help > Frequently Asked Questions, top question, for the proper partitioning method and partition type (GUID/GPT).

Hope that helps!

rock15478
12-31-2014, 12:39 PM
Wow, I feel like an idiot. It's been quite some time apparently! Totally forgot about that option in Disk Utility! Thank you!

And still the outstanding turn-around support time I've always remembered :-)

dnanian
12-31-2014, 01:04 PM
Hopefully, the turn around will never change... :)