PDA

View Full Version : Disable Time Machine before cloning


garoomph
08-02-2014, 05:40 PM
I've had it happen that booting from a clone with the Time Machine drive still attached would start a backup, after which the system on the internal drive refused to do incremental backups. Since this wastes time & space it'd be great if SD could disable TM before cloning, or just disable it on the clone. I suppose a script can do this?

dnanian
08-02-2014, 06:07 PM
Since Time Machine is a black box, doing this would require using undocumented (and thus subject to change) interfaces, something I'm loathe to do.

On top of that, disabling Time Machine on destinations would both make any restored backup also not back up with Time Machine, which would be quite bad.

I'd suggest simply disconnecting the Time Machine volume, should this prove an issue for you...

garoomph
08-02-2014, 06:26 PM
Since Time Machine is a black box, doing this would require using undocumented (and thus subject to change) interfaces,

man tmutil (disable)

I assume before/after copy scripts run as root? It's not in the manual.

I'd suggest simply disconnecting the Time Machine volume, should this prove an issue for you...

It's on the same drive as one of my clones...

dnanian
08-03-2014, 08:53 AM
tmutil disable turns backups off for now, as opposed to on a specific drive.

garoomph
08-03-2014, 09:09 AM
tmutil disable turns backups off for now

That's fine, an after copy script can enable them again. The re-scan will take a while, but no space will be wasted.

dnanian
08-03-2014, 02:16 PM
Feel free to do this with some shell scripts if you want... it's not something I'd want to put in the app.