PDA

View Full Version : Using two or more backup drives


corby
04-27-2014, 09:43 PM
Hello,

I use two different target drives for my backups and rotate them periodically.

Whenever I switch backup drives, SuperDuper takes a long time (well, 30 seconds or so), to realize the previous backup drive is no longer available.

Any way to have SD remember two or more backup drives, so it doesn't waste time looking for the drive that's no longer connected?

dnanian
05-01-2014, 08:57 AM
Sorry this took so long to reply to - I've got to fix the forum's email notification system, I now realize, since I've migrated to a different email service. Apologies.

Anyway - that seems weird. We don't "look" for the drive that's no longer connected in any elaborate sense. We ask the system for a list of currently attached drives, and then look at their low-level IDs to match.

Perhaps one of the drives you have attached isn't responding quickly when we access it?

corby
05-04-2014, 08:38 PM
I didn't get an email notification to your response either. So, sorry I took a long time to check back.

Well, my two drives are named "backup 1" and "backup 2". Last week, I backed up to "backup 2", and promptly took it offsite.

This week, with no external drives connected, I launched SD and watched the beach ball spin for 20 to 30 seconds, before the dialog popped up...I have attached a screen shot.

It's repeatable too. I closed SD and re-opened it several times. It seems it really wants the previous drive until told otherwise. Once a new drive is selected it will remember that one, until it's not longer available.

dnanian
05-04-2014, 09:46 PM
Well, hopefully you're getting them now - it should be OK.

As I said, the beach ball spinning is because something that's attached (or a network mount - something in the volume subsystem) is timing out. It's not because you disconnected the drive...