PDA

View Full Version : create SD backup for new MB Pro


tuni
02-10-2014, 01:24 PM
Recently bought new MBPro
I have La Cie Drive (500GB capable)with backups from my old iMac.

I used Migration Assitant to bring what I wanted from the iMac to the MBPro.

Do I have to do anything to the La Cie Drive before doing a SD backup from my new MBPro? Like deleting my old iMac b/u? (Using Disk Utility?)

Or can I just plug in the La Cie into the MBPro and create a clone? (which would overwrite the old data with the new)????

thanks for help before I do something I shouldn't...

dnanian
02-10-2014, 01:41 PM
I'd erase the drive first, Tuni - do an erase then copy backup.

tuni
02-10-2014, 02:43 PM
sounds reasonable, but for some reason SD can't find my MBPro - have the LA Cie plugged iin to the MBPro via firewire to thunderbolt adapter so it should - is there something I'm missing that can help SD find it? It IS definitely plugged in to the MB Pro????

dnanian
02-10-2014, 04:31 PM
Is the drive visible in Finder? Disk Utility?

tuni
02-10-2014, 05:18 PM
yep, Dave - found it and completed the SD backup.

thanks for your help.