PDA

View Full Version : Buying a New MAC


billnich
09-20-2005, 02:39 PM
I want to purchase a new Mac but I need to move my applications, Adobe Suite CS, Microsoft Office, etc. We recently moved, and cannot find the origanial cd's, for the applications on the G3.

Can these be moved to the new Mac and still work?

dnanian
09-20-2005, 02:43 PM
You should be able to use the Migration Assistant, Bill, that's built into the new machine's startup sequence. (As long as your G3 has FireWire and can be put into FireWire target disk mode.)

billnich
09-20-2005, 02:46 PM
The G3 does have Firewire. How do you put it into Firewire drive mode??

dnanian
09-20-2005, 02:48 PM
You hold down the "t" key when you start the machine. When you boot your new Macintosh, it'll prompt you with the steps -- just tell it you want to move your data from an old mac when it prompts. It'll take care of the rest!

billnich
09-20-2005, 02:51 PM
Great! Thanks for the help!

dnanian
09-20-2005, 03:01 PM
No problem, Bill. I hope -- once your files are transferred -- you'll consider using SuperDuper! to back up the new machine!