PDA

View Full Version : No Reboot After Copy


LGLDSR
09-11-2005, 02:13 PM
Is there a way to not be forced to reboot from the newly created copied Volume? I can understand it's worth to ensure that the copy took place properly, but at times it be nice to test same at a later date.

Also, what is the difference between copying the OS-X Volume and a 'Disk Image'? I assume the former would be used for disaster recovery but am unsure as to what the latter's purpose in life is for.

Thanks -

Lyman

dnanian
09-11-2005, 03:37 PM
Sure, Lyman. Just go into Options and uncheck the "Reboot from >drive<" option...

Disk Images are useful when you want to put the backup in a single file, or plan to restore it a large number of times (disk images, since they're "block copied" on restore, tend to restore quickly, at the expense of time up front).

LGLDSR
09-22-2005, 08:53 PM
Sure, Lyman. Just go into Options and uncheck the "Reboot from >drive<" option...

Disk Images are useful when you want to put the backup in a single file, or plan to restore it a large number of times (disk images, since they're "block copied" on restore, tend to restore quickly, at the expense of time up front).

Thanks Dave!

Lyman

dnanian
09-22-2005, 09:08 PM
No problem, Lyman.