PDA

View Full Version : Prebinding error after successful backup


Cintra
07-27-2012, 05:15 AM
Haven't looked into this much yet, other than to run the backup twice with the same results..

I have updated SD! to v 2.7

First time I did backup with erase first, 2nd time Smart copy.

I'm backing up a Mountain Lion partition while running Lion on another partition.

Mvh

When I booted the Mountain Lion partition and ran backup there, all went well.

dnanian
07-27-2012, 09:00 AM
Ah! You can't back up Mountain Lion from Lion...

camner
12-21-2012, 12:06 AM
I just ran into this same issue--glad I found this post.

A followup question....in another thread you said (if I understood correctly) that the copy is complete before the prebinding step and that SD is just waiting for the system to complete prebinding.

Does "you can't back up Mountain Lion from Lion" mean:
1. The copy is fine but the pre binding didn't happen?
2. The copy is no good...don't expect the ML backup to work

Thanks!

dnanian
12-21-2012, 09:12 AM
The copy is likely OK, but you're using "older" file system calls to try to copy a "newer" version of the file system. It's a bad idea.