PDA

View Full Version : Lion recovery partition


Mark_42
06-03-2012, 05:53 PM
When will SuperDuper acknowledge the existence of the Lion recovery partition and deal with it during backups? I recently installed a new SSD in a Macbook Air and had to use CCC to deal with the recovery partition.

Mark

dnanian
06-03-2012, 06:38 PM
Actually, you can easily recreate the recover partition by simply reinstalling Lion from the App Store. (This has the additional benefit of updating the recover partition with the most recent data, too.)

Mark_42
06-03-2012, 07:24 PM
Actually, you can easily recreate the recover partition by simply reinstalling Lion from the App Store. (This has the additional benefit of updating the recover partition with the most recent data, too.)

Only if you have access to a network at the time. I didn't.

Mark

dnanian
06-03-2012, 11:57 PM
Ah - that's certainly not a case Apple has considered, unfortunately. Thanks for the additional information.

Mark_42
06-07-2012, 03:12 AM
Ah - that's certainly not a case Apple has considered, unfortunately. Thanks for the additional information.

Exactly. I'd like the ability to backup my recovery partition along with the main partition without having to go through any extra steps. CCC doesn't do that yet, and I'd like the backup to happen unattended like it does now. Perhaps a check box to include the recovery partition?

Mark

dnanian
06-07-2012, 09:09 AM
I'm not a fan of this approach, no. For one thing, it's a case where copying one volume would somehow copy another, which is a bad idea.

For another, Apple hasn't yet provided guidance for a supported method of copying the recovery partition. While I do know "how" to do it, the method I'd use is not explicitly endorsed, and as such I don't think it necessarily wise.

Reinstalling Lion (you can create a recovery disk thumbdrive) is the one way that Apple seems to support which is why, right now, that's the way we're doing it. It also ensures that the 'new' recovery partition has the most recent data on it.

This is a frustrating issue. I recognize that it's inconvenient in some situations, but we stil don't have a "good" (eg "supported") way of accomplishing the task. And I don't want to put in something that might cause trouble with an OS update, minor or major, or unexpected behavior due to going "around" the existing method.

Now, the 'unsupported' method is only unsupported in the sense that the copy is done at a low level, the partition maps have to be adjusted, partitions created, hidden, named, etc. But while I know how, of course, building that kind of thing in makes me nervous for the reasons mentioned above.

Anyway, still thinking about it...

Mark_42
06-08-2012, 03:21 AM
I'm not a fan of this approach, no. For one thing, it's a case where copying one volume would somehow copy another, which is a bad idea.

For another, Apple hasn't yet provided guidance for a supported method of copying the recovery partition. While I do know "how" to do it, the method I'd use is not explicitly endorsed, and as such I don't think it necessarily wise.

Reinstalling Lion (you can create a recovery disk thumbdrive) is the one way that Apple seems to support which is why, right now, that's the way we're doing it. It also ensures that the 'new' recovery partition has the most recent data on it.

This is a frustrating issue. I recognize that it's inconvenient in some situations, but we stil don't have a "good" (eg "supported") way of accomplishing the task. And I don't want to put in something that might cause trouble with an OS update, minor or major, or unexpected behavior due to going "around" the existing method.

Now, the 'unsupported' method is only unsupported in the sense that the copy is done at a low level, the partition maps have to be adjusted, partitions created, hidden, named, etc. But while I know how, of course, building that kind of thing in makes me nervous for the reasons mentioned above.

Anyway, still thinking about it...

How 'bout if the recovery partition already existed? Would that make any difference? If the contents aren't changed, which would be most of the time, nothing would be changed.


Mark (I gotta get a life)

dnanian
06-08-2012, 09:22 AM
I don't see why, if you already had the volume, you'd want to copy it again like that...

Mark_42
06-14-2012, 03:30 PM
I don't see why, if you already had the volume, you'd want to copy it again like that...

I'd love to be able to do that. Unfortunately SD doesn't see invisible partitions.

dnanian
06-14-2012, 03:34 PM
Mark - why would you want to do that, if you already had a recovery partition? What benefit would there possibly be?

Mark_42
07-19-2012, 02:41 AM
Mark - why would you want to do that, if you already had a recovery partition? What benefit would there possibly be?

Just in case a system update modified the original. As it stands, I have no way of knowing if the recovery partition is modified or not. If SD backed it up along with the main partition I wouldn't have to worry about it being different.

I'm not trying to be a pain in the butt about this, I'm just not used to being unsure if my backup drive is the same as my internal drive.

dnanian
07-19-2012, 08:22 AM
Does Time Machine - Apple's own solution for doing backups - copy the recovery partition, Mark?

If a "different" or "changed" recovery partition worried Apple, they would be copying it. But they don't. They recreate it during restore.

Similarly, I'm not trying to be a "pain in the butt". I'm trying to do the right thing. Yes, I know "how" to copy the recovery partition. But the question is: is copying it the right thing to do?

All the "external" signs from Apple basically point to "don't copy or access the recovery partition", as far as I can tell...

DavidCB
07-27-2012, 11:38 PM
Actually, you can easily recreate the recover partition by simply reinstalling Lion from the App Store. (This has the additional benefit of updating the recover partition with the most recent data, too.)

This thread has left me confused. Like the original poster, I have a new SSD that I would like to install in a MacBook Pro, which came with Lion installed and now contains all my User data. I have made clones of the hard drive on external drives using SuperDuper in the normal manner. (I haven't checked to see if the clones contain the recovery partition; is there a way to do that?)

I had thought that I would install the empty SSD in the MBP, boot from one of the clones and clone that to the SSD. From what I gather, though, if I use this method, the SSD will not have the recovery partition on it?

In any event, what is the best way to proceed?

Thank you,

David

dnanian
07-27-2012, 11:43 PM
Yes, you would make the copy, then reinstall Lion to recreate the recovery partition (which will refresh the OS and maintain your existing applications and data). I'm not sure where you're confused.

DavidCB
07-28-2012, 12:02 AM
Yes, you would make the copy, then reinstall Lion to recreate the recovery partition (which will refresh the OS and maintain your existing applications and data). I'm not sure where you're confused.

I was confused because I didn't realize that making a normal clone would not include the recovery partition. Or do I have that wrong?

Also, sorry for the basic questions, but when you say to reinstall Lion, do you then use Migration Assistant for your data?

David

dnanian
07-28-2012, 12:11 AM
Remember, you're only copying the volume (partition) you select. That's how things are defined. A "drive" (physical) can't be selected, and doesn't even have a name...

Reinstalling Lion, as I said, preserves your existing applications and data. There's no need to run Migration - your data and apps stay in place.

DavidCB
07-28-2012, 12:44 AM
Remember, you're only copying the volume (partition) you select. That's how things are defined. A "drive" (physical) can't be selected, and doesn't even have a name...

Reinstalling Lion, as I said, preserves your existing applications and data. There's no need to run Migration - your data and apps stay in place.

Thank you--now I understand about copying only the volume.

As for reinstalling Lion, I think I understand that now too--I hadn't seen from what you had said before that it preserved your existing applications and data.

David

dnanian
07-28-2012, 09:03 AM
Yes. Since Snow Leopard, a reinstall (not an erase install) basically refreshes the OS under your stuff.

edalzell
08-01-2012, 12:23 PM
OK, just so I am clear (foggy head this morning).

I have just ordered an SSD for my 2009 MBP. Steps I should take are:
1. SD backup
2. Install SSD
3. Install ML on SSD
4. Use SD to copy over entire drive, overwriting the OS I just installed?

edalzell
08-01-2012, 12:28 PM
OK, just so I am clear (foggy head this morning).
4. Use SD to copy over entire drive, overwriting the OS I just installed?

Based on this: http://tidbits.com/article/13133 I should install ML then use the Migration assistant. Correct?

dnanian
08-01-2012, 12:30 PM
No, you can simply 1. SD Backup; 2. Install SSD; 3: Properly partition/format SSD; 4: Restore backup with SD; 5: Boot from new SSD.

When you're ready to create the recovery partition, simply download and install the OS from the App Store.

dnanian
08-01-2012, 12:30 PM
Alternatively, if you'd like, you can install ML on the SSD and then migrate from the backup, as explained in the FAQ.

edalzell
08-01-2012, 12:37 PM
When you're ready to create the recovery partition, simply download and install the OS from the App Store.

This is the part that confuses me. I have ML on my MBP already, so if I restore from back up, I won't have the Recovery Partition. And to get it I re-install the OS?

dnanian
08-01-2012, 01:00 PM
I'm sorry, you're right. If you install ML first, and restore with "Restore - all files" with "Smart Update", the recovery partition will still be there so you don't have to restore.

Or you can do it the way I said, and not install ML on the internal (just partition and format), and install ML later.

DavidCB
08-03-2012, 01:27 PM
Yes. Since Snow Leopard, a reinstall (not an erase install) basically refreshes the OS under your stuff.

Thanks for the info--I am new to Lion and didn't realize that.

David

ian4c
10-23-2012, 09:19 PM
No, you can simply 1. SD Backup; 2. Install SSD; 3: Properly partition/format SSD; 4: Restore backup with SD; 5: Boot from new SSD.

When you're ready to create the recovery partition, simply download and install the OS from the App Store.

Dave, I have used SD to copy my last Macbook Air to my new computer. Clearly I now don't have a 'Recovery Partition' Since I am not very bright on these things I occasionally copy my system as a backup to my SD 'back up drive' with 2 partitions. I alternate these.

Quote from you "When you're ready to create the recovery partition, simply download and install the OS from the App Store."

Since I have a fairly up to date back up + Time Machine what is the need to have the Recovery Partition. If I downloaded ML and installed it - the nest time I made a copy I would loose the Recovery Partition.

So do I really need Recovery Partition?

Ian

dnanian
10-23-2012, 10:39 PM
Making a copy won't lose your recovery partition. Replacing a drive will... they're not THAT easy to lose!

ian4c
10-24-2012, 07:49 PM
Now I understand :) Thank you for that.

So when I copy my present MacBook Air, with SD and copy it to (decided to order a MBP R 13" to day) The recovery partition will be in tact?

I'm thinking this may not be correct?

Ian

dnanian
10-24-2012, 11:29 PM
You shouldn't do it that way. See Help > Frequently Asked Questions, "I've got a new Mac.."